Job Chatter in Diary

  • Jan. 18, 2015, 7:29 a.m.
  • |
  • Public

Well I didn’t get the job I interviewed for, as you’ve probably guessed otherwise I would be waxing lyrical about it all over here. What’s annoying is that they gave it to someone internally. I hate it when they do this! They’ve already decided who they’re going to give it to, but legally they have to advertise it externally to prove they’re giving it to the right person. So I had a telephone interview and two face to face interviews over the course of a month, spent hours researching the company and the role and rehearsing all my possible answers, and it was all a bloody waste of time all along.

Back to the drawing board. I’ve just applied for a job that I’m actually quite excited about. Helpdesk Administrator where “experience in a facilities/ building maintenance environment is essential.” Well, it sounds like they’re describing me perfectly, seeing as though I was a Helpdesk Administrator in the Facilities/ Building Management department for the biggest single campus university in the UK (Loughborough) for no less than six years! I actually really enjoyed the job and I only left so I could move to the West Midlands to be with Jay, so I think I would be great at this! The only thing is that it didn’t specify the salary so I would have to see what it would be if I was offered it. There’s no reason why I shouldn’t get an interview anyway given my experience :o)

Meantime, my dog walking business is really starting to pick up. Today I’ve confirmed a new customer which is an extra guaranteed £30 a week and, in the last two days, I’ve had four new enquiries from people, which is pretty excessive when you compare it to previous times. For February I already have confirmed bookings which will see me earning the same in a month as I was earning at PRG, and that’s without any of my ad hoc customers which usually adds quite a bit extra. So that’s great news, at least I’ll have one month where I’m not struggling for cash.


Lucretia January 18, 2015

That totally sucks, while I get that looking outside your business might be good which companies actually hire someone new? You're right, it was a total waste of time and it's a silly law: firms just jump through the legal hoops and do what they were gonna do anyway. Hope you get the next one!

Babe In Toyland January 18, 2015

They probably didn't specify a salary because they want to negotiate! Sounds promising and every time you post about job interviews, you encourage me to go looking for an environment job!

Babe In Toyland January 18, 2015

Dammit, the LDNPA are looking for rangers and I'm not qualified enough. :(

Bomb Shell Babe In Toyland ⋅ January 18, 2015

What do you need to qualify? Go and do whatever it is!

Babe In Toyland Bomb Shell ⋅ January 18, 2015

I need to complete this college course, do more volunteering and learn how to drive. I'm wondering if I should look at going back to college...

history of love January 27, 2015

I hate it when they do that. I've had that done to me before and it's such a waste of energy and time :(
Something will come along for you soon and I guess at least you have something with your walking/sitting to keep you going in the meantime.

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.