New Home In The Works in Muddling Through As Best I Can

  • Jan. 17, 2015, 4:09 p.m.
  • |
  • Public

Well, it’s been on my mind for a while now, and I think I’m going to downgrade my housing size a great deal. When we bought our property 16 years ago, we put a mobile home here with the intention of building a permanent home.
Unfortunately, Cheryl’s illness curtailed those plans; we were going to wait until her health improved before going ahead on construction.
Now, three years after her passing, I’m looking at a huge four bedroom mobile home that looks like three teenage boys have lived in it. It was used when we acquired it, and it falls apart faster than I can keep up with it in my old age. In addition, I just don’t want this much room for only myself.
After some shopping and pricing, I’ve found I can get a small home put out here, big enough for just me, for a very reasonable price. Reasonable enough that I can have it paid off before my planned retirement in six years. It’s a permanent structure, built much sturdier than a mobile home, and way more energy efficient.
It’s a two bedroom home (one is a small loft bedroom) with a large master bathroom, and a smaller but easily sufficient full bath as well.
It will be at least three weeks before I can get everything in order to start construction, but by this time next year it looks like I will be moving in. Kind of nervous yet excited at the same time.


You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.