I have been blessed in rants

  • Jan. 16, 2015, 5:55 a.m.
  • |
  • Public

Through a LOT of hard work - MANY hours of overtime, etc - I have a decent pension and enough money to live on… and have as a cushion for emergencies.

I learned many years ago NOT to loan money - the person cannot pay back and you’re “out” the money AND the friend. So, over the years, I’ve given money - sometimes it was a drop in the bucket and the person was still suffering for lack of money, sometimes it was a worthwhile investment.

Just recently, I sent enough money to a couple (about my age) who were both disabled and pretty much homeless. They needed enough to buy a car, and knew exactly what car they were going to buy. I immediately sent them a check to cover it. I am sure they still need money for insurance, gas, etc., but that will come from other people. I know them from the Internet, but I do believe Internet friends can be true friends. The car has enabled the husband to actually work - some temp jobs, etc. I felt it was a good investment. Hand up rather than hand out sort of thing.

Now to the purpose of this “entry”. I have a friend who has a small child and is recently divorced. She is on the verge of being evicted from her apartment. I am guessing neither she nor her ex-husband have a job that pays enough for their expenses. I am so torn. I have the money to help, but feel that it’ll be a drop in the bucket sort of thing - with the sense of “good money after bad”, and the sense that she will just need more and more.

I was hoping to pay off my apartment this year, but the maintenance has gone up substantially and they’ve added an assessment. Plus my part time job is an “on-call” sort of thing - if they don’t call, I don’t work. VERY iffy.

I hate the thought of my friend not having a place to live, but can’t see clearly to supporting her (which is what I feel it would come down to). ARGH! I hate this sort of dilemma.


woman in the moon January 16, 2015

These are hard questions. I understand why giving money rather than loaning it is better. I understand that what you give must be money that you can easily spare. And I understand that you want to give it when it will be a sincere help rather than just on going support.
Those are all hard decisions but I believe you are able to make the right ones. I appreciate the effort and care that goes into making them.
Thanks for writing this. You are definitely a good friend.

Darcy0207 from OD woman in the moon ⋅ January 16, 2015

thanks. I think that no matter what I decide it'll be a difficult decision. And after I read a note she'd sent to our mutual friend, I am realizing the stress her daughter is going through and why the little girl gets sick all the time.

raeven January 16, 2015

You are in a very tough position. No easy answers at all ..

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.