Suggestion Box, November edition in Suggestion Box

  • Nov. 7, 2013, 10:48 p.m.
  • |
  • Public

I kind of like the monthly suggestion box thing... keeps a single entry from getting MILES LONG.

OK, so before you suggest these things, here's what's already on the radar:

  • Prosebox News, on the main page. Now that there's nearly 2,500 users and many of you are NoJoMoProsing, my little updates drop into oblivion pretty quickly. Having them stick on the front page for a while should be helpful.
  • Blocking Users. This seems to be a hot item once again, so it's high on the list. As at least a couple of you have mentioned, I'll make the blocking bi-directional; if you block someone, they not only don't see your stuff, you don't see their stuff. Fair's fair. I'll probably also add some mandatory minimum time period (e.g. add a block and it's there for at least a week), so people can't start playing some demented game of peek-a-boo.
  • Backdating entries, and defaulting entry titles to the current date. Now that you can set the timezone, this is even better.
  • Rich text editor. I'll still leave the option to just use Markdown (which I personally think rocks and I crank things out a whole lot faster when I'm not messing around with my mouse), but for those that love their toolbars, I'll give you one. Because Prosebox loves you. (and not in an inappropriate sort of way)

That's what comes to mind at the moment, though I'm sure there's other things that have been mentioned before and will be inevitably be mentioned again. Such as, "When can I make my prose book hot pink?" I'm sleepy so I won't answer that one right now, but you're welcome to check out my Q&A entry that addresses that. Good night!

EDIT: Oh yeah, and the Random entry finder thingy. That too.


Comments are closed.
MissMeg November 07, 2013

Yes--personalization of our Proseboxes please! :)

And how far off is the possibility of us OD refugees and our 2000+ entries being able to be migrated over here? I've got my XML file all ready. And I always found the OD "entry calendar" to be really handy when searching for things from years back, will we have anything like that here?

simple mind MissMeg ⋅ November 07, 2013

I never used that calendar feature on OD, but I guess a lot of people liked it. Will definitely look into something like that.

The more things change simple mind ⋅ November 23, 2013

Yes, please add an entry calendar! I used that feature so many times when I wanted to try and find old memories. I see a backdating suggestion was added, that was my suggestion as well. Any idea on when that will be added/its priority level?

Stephably MissMeg ⋅ November 13, 2013

I agree with the calendar idea. I use it a lot as well.

Lobbastah November 08, 2013

I would like some kind of atm feature that I can punch in my PIN and get out Prosebux.

Lobbastah November 08, 2013

Also, I think a button that I can press and it will write an entry for me would be helpful. Thx.

simple mind Lobbastah ⋅ November 08, 2013

I'm seriously considering a Shakespearean insult button, exclusively for premium users. So that will make commenting easier. :)

Thou wimpled ill-breeding foot-licker!

banker chick simple mind ⋅ November 16, 2013

I'd buy a subscription purely for that.

kalakri November 08, 2013

Thank you!!! My block finger is itchyyyyy!

OneSassyLadyNKY November 08, 2013

I'm gonna go out on a limb here ... I too am looking forward to the block feature ... with that being said, I'm kinda liking/enjoying the simplicity of PB. It seems to me that OD had so many gadgets/bells and whistles/doo-dads that maybe that is why that site finally went down the tubes. There is just too much going on with OD that it's hard to keep a handle on it all if that makes any sense? As much as I love all of the features that OD had to offer at one point in time, I'd rather stick to here, and it's basic basics if that means I can write without frustrations.

Regardless of where PB is headed in the future, thank you for all you do for us. I'm sure it is time consuming and your self-sacrificing means a lot to me. You, kind Sir, ROCK!

Etoile Filante November 08, 2013

Awww I definitely vote for no personalisation. xXx

Deleted user Etoile Filante ⋅ November 13, 2013

If people want "pretty" unreadable fonts on illegible backgrounds, they can always start a diary on OD.

There's a reason books are printed with black ink on white paper---you can actually read that.

Spilledperfume November 08, 2013

I have to side with LeeMee and vote for no personalisation.

banker chick Spilledperfume ⋅ November 16, 2013

I agree. At first I wasn't sure how I'd like it but it's been nice being able to read everything and not have to highlight entire pages.

I need tea. November 08, 2013

Me too. I like how simple it is. Though you've already said you wont let personalistion on crazy OD levels woop

Deleted user November 08, 2013

I like the idea of toolbars because I am no good with HTML. It would also be nice if I could important my pictures easier (drag & drop perhaps)? Or if we could have photo storage on PB for a cost? I'd pay for that.

Hypnotica November 08, 2013

I have to kind of agree, one of the things I like here is the simplicity. Even though I know the friends only thing will come in handy at some point I am sure, I like that a lot of people have come over here with a clean slate and not blocked anybody or gone public where they were FO before. It feels good to start over and think having simple books with no personalisation is part of that.

Emmy Lou Hypnotica ⋅ November 13, 2013

Same here - I like that I can read everyone's entries on my phone and there's none of those awkward center aligned entries that you have to swipe your screen or zoom out to be able to read.

And ditto on the garish colour schemes.

Leanne 🌈 November 08, 2013

I dig the simplicity of PB.

Jeanine November 08, 2013

I didn't read all of these suggestions (yet) so this may have already been mentioned, but it would be great if we had an option to request to be someone's friend. I have an OD refugee friend come aboard this week, and there were a few people who were writing for friends only so there was no way for her to let this other refugee she was here and wanted to read. Is it possible to add a little "hey, I'd like to be your friend!" for the person to either accept or deny?

Overachiever Jeanine ⋅ November 21, 2013

I remember this being an issue when they first did "friends only" diaries on OD.

Jeanine November 08, 2013

OH AND ALSO!

Thanks for all of your hard work. I know you don't get paid for this, and I very much appreciate your time and effort to give us a space to connect with our friends and to write out all of our feels. I am really thankful for this space.

Pretty Fly Jedi November 08, 2013

This is going to sound so horribly lazy but can we have a "publish" button under the preview text?

I do most/all of my writing from mobile. Even short entries tend to be long on the preview. Then I go to scroll up and I am like that overly enthusiastic Price is Right contstent spinning the wheel....end up back at the top of the page or hit "preview" again by accident.....I'm a mess....ignore me weeps

Speaking from a mobile user POV, thank you SO much for the simplicity. The biggest problem I have with a lot of sites (OD being a huge one) is links being all together.....you keep clicking one and it takes you to a different section. Or you have to scroll left/right constantly and then you'll hit a link and navigate from the page on accident. I don't have those problems with Prosebox! Thank you :)

Life Is For Living November 08, 2013

I quite enjoy the simplicity of PB! Although I know many would love a customization option. My biggest want I guess would be for Bookmarks - when someone edits their entry, if the Bookmarks could be updated. Otherwise, I find I am missing out on some updates because the title does not get highlighted. & in saying that, some people update a few books in a day. So maybe a Bookmark Read feature? Also, an overall private notes option. I know myself & some others utilized this feature on the other site. But, I am liking the ability to see all of my common friends throughout diaries, so that is nice for now.

Thanks for all of your hard work! As you can see, it is greatly appreciated by many!

hoops November 08, 2013

This is far from important or a priority, but when I'm on the Twitter Machine, it gives an option of embedding a tweet. As one who is trying to stop being such a Luddite and embrace the power of whatever this thing is here, I've been clicking on the little Embed Tweet link on the Twitter Machine and then copying the code, then coming over here to The Prosebox Machine and pasting that code in my entries. Then I click on the Preview here on the Prosebox Machine and there are issues.

  1. The final line of (code?) that I copy doesn't embed at all--it just shows up as what I originally copied. I've gotten past this by just deleting this line and the rest seems to work okay. However...

  2. The embedded tweet doesn't look like what the Twitter Machine shows me it's going to look like--all graphicy with bells and whistles. It kind of shows up as a text version of the tweet.

So. The tweet does embed in an entry, it's clearly something different from the rest of the entry, but it still doesn't embed like it's supposed to according to what Twitter shows me. Then again, I don't understand what it is I'm copying and then pasting--I'm just doing it. So, it may just be be pilot error. Anyway, the Twitter Machine is pretty popular with these crazy kids these days and I thought I'd mention the issue I was having showing my tweets (that sounds dirty) in an entry here.

On the other hand, Goodreads embeds work out really well. So, that's good! Anyway, there it is, thank you!

Fawkes Gal November 08, 2013

I noticed that if I clicked to "friend" someone, I could automatically see their friend-only entries. would there be a way to program it that someone can only see friend-only entries if the writer adds the person as a friend? I don't like the idea of making a friend-only entry that anyone could see just by clicking to add me as a friend. I'd like to make friend-only entries accessible only to those who I decide are friends.

simple mind Fawkes Gal ⋅ November 08, 2013

No, if you're seeing a Friends only entry, that person has made you their friend already.

Deleted user November 08, 2013

Not sure if I already said so or not, but I would love to be able to customize my background. Will that be an option anytime soon?

Deleted user November 08, 2013

Also, a keyword search function to search our books would be nice, too. :)

Lyn Deleted user ⋅ November 13, 2013

Oh, I would like this too!

moneypenny November 08, 2013

Sorry, I think I'm pretty tech-friendly and a quick learner, but I cannot get the hang of Markdown at ALL. Anything you can do to make that less necessary (it's already fine, but I'd always appreciate mo' options) would be super.

LeftisRight November 08, 2013

Any plans for a future app (like an iPhone app) for Prosebox? I always wanted that for OD.

Silverkitty November 08, 2013

Something that would make life easier for reading other people's diaries - if you go to somebody's entry from the front page, the only way to get to their own personal page to see what else they've written is using the little menu at the top. It took me FOREVER to figure out where the links were, because common sense says that they should be the ones in the black box... could we possibly make those links as well?

Dictynna November 08, 2013

Being able to label entries would be great, and to be able to search easily by those labels. And also batch editing of entries would be great. Because, ya know, that other place has always been pretty CRAP at that batch editing thing.

And I definitely agree with the need for customisation options - even if it was just enabling us to add a background image, while keeping the simpler white bg and black text for the main box of writing.

Dictynna November 08, 2013

I'd also like to be able to rearrange my books, that is in the order they appear on my "profile" page.

kiki November 09, 2013

How does one 'un' bookmark someone? I did it by mistake and cannot figure out how to undo it.

simple mind kiki ⋅ November 09, 2013

Same way you bookmark someone, just hit the button again to toggle it off.

kiki simple mind ⋅ November 15, 2013

Sounds good in theory but it is not working for me...

kiki simple mind ⋅ November 15, 2013

Of course, just after I wrote this note I tried again and it suddenly worked. Sigh. How about the ability to DELETE notes then :)

Toggled November 10, 2013

The only thing I would like would be to be able to centre images if there is not a way to already do this

Deleted user November 12, 2013

I'm seeing a little glitch with the "Latest Entry" link. I just posted an entry (Members Only) and yesterday's entry shows up there, not today. When I use "Current Author" the newer entry doesn't show up in the chain of entries, either. It does show up as the latest entry when I "Open My Prosebox".

Deleted user November 13, 2013

What about the option to edit our entry's synopsis/summary blurb, as it appears on the front page?

There would be an additional box for that on the Edit Entry page. If a writer left it blank, the default summary would be the first lines of the entry (as it is now).

If the user edited the synopsis, it would also appear at the top of the page, under the entry's title when the entry was viewed (there's a little space for it there, already).

perfunctory November 13, 2013

I'm really, really missing the ability to accept only private notes. I feel so exposed! :)

Deleted user November 13, 2013

If you can have a delete account feature in case for those who just no longer need an account here and a block feature as well. A feature button where you can upload photo's from your computer without having to use HTML codes as well.

Deleted user November 14, 2013

OK, update on the Latest Entry / Current Author link chaining glitch. Today's entry shows up as the Latest Entry, but yesterday's doesn't appear in the Current Author chain of links. If I go to my "Starfish" book and click on yesterday's entry ("seven souls") it looks like it has been inserted into the link chain before an entry posted 10/17.

Is the Current Author link chain supposed to be chronological?

I'm not really bothered by this, no worries, I'm just wondering if this will cause others to think they've got "missing" entries. I originally thought that entry hadn't posted correctly until I started getting notes on it.

simple mind Deleted user ⋅ November 14, 2013

Yeah, I would expect it to be chronological by publish date. Weird. I did notice something weird in the Latest Entry that I'll fix. But I'm also revamping the navigation at some point as well.

Deleted user simple mind ⋅ November 17, 2013

OK, I think I've figured out what happened here. I realized that I'd saved the "seven souls" entry as a draft a while ago, and then edited it and published it much later. The chronology in Current Author must be based on the creation date of an entry, not the publication date.

Deleted user November 14, 2013

can we please, please have an option to change our email address? if there is one already, can it be easier to find? this is probably THE most basic thing..

simple mind Deleted user ⋅ November 14, 2013

Believe me, it's on the to-do list. If you want to drop me a private comment with your info I can do it for you.

Beret November 14, 2013

Sorry if I have missed this suggestion or comment by you, but when I click on Leave a comment it would be nice for the cursor to be in the comment box. Maybe I'm doing something wrong but I always have to click in the box to begin writing. Just an annoyance.

Dave November 15, 2013

How about a simple counter on how many times people view your posts and stuff.

Sublimejen November 15, 2013

I would like to be able to respond to comments on the Comments page instead of going back to the entry, scrolling down finding the comment and then responding. Or is there a way already and I'm just not seeing it? :)

Sleepless Drifter November 15, 2013

To be able to delete or edit comments would be great! I have accidentally posted the same comment a couple of times and I feel bad cause I can't delete the extras! Lol.

Deleted user November 16, 2013

Entries scroll off the front page really fast, now that Prosebox is catching on (and that nojoblomo thing is going on...) I think few people click on the "More entries" link at the bottom of the page (I know that I don't, very often) so lots of entries I might be interested in reading get lost in the noise.

So what about this: when you scroll down on a tumblr or instagram feed, more entries load automatically at the bottom of the page. Could we have that kind of behavior here?

Deleted user November 16, 2013

Can you make comments you leave able to delete, and also able to delete coments on your book. SO if you put a comment you wanted private and it goes up seeable you can delete it and we write to make it private!

*Mrs_Bolen* November 18, 2013

I would like to change the entry setting within a book. If my book is public and I want to write a members only within that book I can change it. Or a FO inside a members only book etc.

ThisIsME November 18, 2013

Do you see making a button/link thing at the bottom of entries to go to the next entry on the list of might do things? Sometimes when you just back read entries to catch up and don't comment I have to scroll back up but a next button by the comment box would be nice for things like this

simple mind ThisIsME ⋅ November 18, 2013

Yeah, I've actually been thinking about how to revamp the navigation to make it SUPER SWEET. My idea would be to have both previous and next (if applicable) "preview" sections, and the ability to skip between previews before jumping to the next entry. I'm excited, I think it will be a great feature.

Deleted user simple mind ⋅ November 26, 2013

Somewhat related to that, I think it would be better if the Current Author tab was the default, rather than the Current Book tab.

Overachiever November 19, 2013

I miss users having ages. Nothing against the youngun's, I just choose to read more mature writers.

Same for geographic areas. Optional of course. But sometimes you want to connect with locals.

The textedit box styling does not allow for resizing. In fact, it has an inline style for "resize: none;". Not sure why that is, because I like seeing more text when I write.

Lastly, and I know this one is a simple request, but you should give people the opportunity to have "AKA" listings. A lot of people changed their names coming over from OD. It would be nice to allow them to be found by name...if they want to be, of course.

I'm sure I'll have more. But overall, nice job.

Overachiever November 19, 2013

OK, I'm back. The color on the dark scheme for the "bookmark" and "friend" buttons is all wrong. I clicked those damn things like half a dozen times back and forth because the color wasn't indicative of "success".

The colors on the dark scheme in general...um...how do I say this while still being polite...the colors were clearly chosen by a developer.

simple mind Overachiever ⋅ November 19, 2013

Yes, that would be me. If you have better colors, I'm very open to suggestion.

Overachiever simple mind ⋅ November 20, 2013

Eh, instead of killing yourself with design issues, let people choose for themselves. It's just a bootstrap theme. Don't bother creating a whole designer admin. Just let people upload their own themes if they want.

Or, grab a few more options for free: http://bootswatch.com/

But I like my theme choice applying to all diaries. Nothing worse than trying to read at work and ending up on somebody's barbie-pink page.

woman in the moon Overachiever ⋅ December 01, 2013

I like the dark theme. Not sure why. But I do.

aglow November 22, 2013

Hiya! I've noticed that when you're on an entry, ready to leave a comment, if you click on the "leave comment" button, it doesn't give you an active cursor in the comment box & you have to manually click in before you can start leaving ALL THE WORDS. Any way to fix that?

Have a magnificent day!

Deleted user November 22, 2013

I wanted to use sup and sub tags in an entry and found that they don't work. I realize that this is prosebox and not mathbox, and probably no one else was affected by this, but they are widely supported, don't seem dangerous, and I did want to use them. Is there some list of allowed / prohibited tags? can I get these onto the former and/or off the latter?

(If these lists exist, may we see them?)

simple mind Deleted user ⋅ November 22, 2013

Good point. I like math. Should be added now, let me check...

x2 - y2 = (x + y)(x - y)

And I did have the list in my previous help section that confused people... will re-add it again when I get the chance.

Deleted user simple mind ⋅ November 26, 2013

YAY. You know what I'd really like, too? The <abbr> tag, with a working title attribute. For science-y stuff, like Dave, but also for comic effect.

simple mind Deleted user ⋅ November 26, 2013

I think you may have mentioned this before and I forgot. Added!

Deleted user simple mind ⋅ November 26, 2013

Thanks! But it's stripping the title attribute out of the tag, so it's not working yet. (I feel bad even mentioning such a silly little thing, feel free to ignore, OK?)

simple mind Deleted user ⋅ November 26, 2013

Well no point in having a tag you can't use. :) Should be working now.

YOLO!!!

Deleted user simple mind ⋅ November 26, 2013

Oh man. You're the best! Thanks.

Deleted user November 22, 2013

Great! Thanks for the super-quick response!

perfunctory November 23, 2013

A search box for searching key words or titles within our prosebooks?

Dictynna perfunctory ⋅ November 26, 2013

I'd love this!

Deleted user November 25, 2013

Not sure if mentioned already but note history between users would be super useful.

Dictynna November 26, 2013

This is a really basic question and no doubt I'm suffering from extreme domestic blindness, but ... how do I change my password??

simple mind Dictynna ⋅ November 26, 2013

I need a real "change password" feature. But for now, you can log out and use the "forgot password" link to reset it.

Dictynna simple mind ⋅ November 26, 2013

Okay, thanks for that!

destination.unknown November 27, 2013

Could there be an option to bookmark only certain prosebooks for one author? For example, if one author has 3 prosebooks; two which I really like reading but one not-so-much... is there a way to block that particular prosebook from showing up in my bookmark updates?

Sorry if this is something that already exists and I'm totally missing it!

simple mind destination.unknown ⋅ November 29, 2013

It's a feature I want to add, but it's not there yet.

Lindsey November 28, 2013

  1. Ad placement. Right now, when I am looking at a page, the ad is right at the beginning of the main content section, before I even see the writer profile or the book information and you have to scroll down a good little bit before getting to the actual entry. It would be nice to see the ads off to one side or another rather than right at the top dominating the main content.

  2. Sometimes my entries can get rather long and I like to go back and read through a paragraph or two. It would be nice if the writing pane was substantially bigger than it is, or if it had the ability to be manually expanded by dragging the bottom left corner of it (Hey! Like this comment box! :D)

Otherwise, it's looking pretty darned awesome for being a new site! It would be nice to see more customization options in the future, but I'm sure that's already been commented on.

simple mind Lindsey ⋅ November 28, 2013

For ad placement, that's kind of the point. It's easy to completely ignore things that don't fall into the main content flow. Good news is that I'm working behind the scenes to set up my premium plan that gets rid of all the ads. :)

Somebody else mentioned the text area wasn't resizable, not even sure why that is. Will definitely look into that.

Frailty November 28, 2013

Is there any way to download our diaries? OD had the option for PDF downloads if upgraded. Just wondering so that I could have it neatly in a file or not.

simple mind Frailty ⋅ November 29, 2013

Not yet, no.

BlueEyedDevil November 29, 2013

If my friends list could be sorted by last updated, that'd be awesome!

Deleted user BlueEyedDevil ⋅ December 01, 2013

I second that !!

Deleted user November 29, 2013

Really not liking how riddled with ads the pages have become, especially when they're on top and the first thing you see. Can't they be kept at the sides and the bottom? :) Would still like to customize backgrounds, too. :)

Deleted user Deleted user ⋅ December 01, 2013

Ads are part of the free internet world. I think Simple Mind has mentioned recently the possibility of a paid subscription in the future , with no ads...

Deleted user Deleted user ⋅ December 01, 2013

Oh, I understand this.:) I just think there are too many ads right now and they shouldn't be up top unless they're skinny banner ads.

Deleted user December 01, 2013

More of a question: Will it be possible in the future to amalgamate books together? Eg: If I had a poetry book, and then a lyrics book. But then suddenly thought it would best to have all of these writings together in one book.

woman in the moon December 01, 2013

Hi. I would like be able to reply to comments on the comments list.

I don't always go back to my entries.

Crystal December 02, 2013

I didn't read through all of the comments, so I'm sorry if someone's already mentioned this, but I would GLADLY pay for a non-ad version of the site. I pay for OD even though it doesn't work, just because I don't want ads when I log in. I realize that you need ads for revenue, but they're very, extremely annoying to me. I still come here because I love the atmosphere of blogging and PB is starting to be more active like OD was... but I really hate ads. :) Just my two cents!

simple mind Crystal ⋅ December 02, 2013

Yep, premium plan is in the works. I just needed more ad revenue to keep things afloat until I can launch subscriptions, hence the larger and more intrusive ads.

Deleted user December 03, 2013

Hi, I was wondering, if you could create a shortcut to drafts? I took me a really long time to find them (computer version) and twice I thought they had not been saved. I only found them by accident.

Comments are closed.