Days 6-8 in 2015

  • Jan. 12, 2015, 4:03 p.m.
  • |
  • Public

Well, it was an interesting weekend.

Friday night, I cooked my latest ‘plated’ creation which was an ‘asian stir fry quinoa bowl with tofu.’ Aaron grilled up some chicken and added it to the mix and it was delightful. Joaquin was in a play-doh mood, so we busted out the ‘fun factory’ and made piles of ‘squiggles’ - big ones, little ones, square ones, etc. So much fun, and he’s so cute about it.

Untitled

Untitled

This also happened:
Untitled

Then we chased him around in circles for awhile, pretending to be ‘giants.’ Or maybe I was a T-rex ? I don’t know. He is OBSESSED with dinosaurs, and has been for awhile, but he’s added ‘giant’ to his list of things he likes to discuss/act afraid of. He LOVES to be scared. He’s also ‘afraid’ of shadows, unless they are ‘nice shadows.’ He’s HILARIOUS. I’m going to try and record more of his little conversations here. I loved this one:

Me: I like eggs.
JRB: I ‘yike’ eggs TOO
Me: I like sausage.
JRB: I ‘yike’ sha-shage TOO
Me: I like YOU!
JRB: NO Mama! I not FOOOOD!

Anyway, we ran around in circles until we finally convinced him to get his PJs on. Then he convinced us to let him watch a ‘movie’ and our choice for Friday night was “Room on the Broom.” It’s the third in a series - Gruffalo, Gruffalo’s child and then Room on the Broom. Really artistic, but also SCARY, so of course he loves it. Once he fell asleep snuggled into the crook of Aaron’s arm, I picked him up and transferred him into his crib where he snuggled in for the rest of the night.

We started watching Sons of Anarchy, and basically we’d been binging on that all week, so we just continued the trend on Friday night after Joaquin went to sleep. Aaron gave me a foot massage and it was amazing.

The next day was my weigh-in day at the gym. I effectively raised my body weight by two lbs just by drinking a giant thing of water before weighing in, which will help my ‘after’ numbers :) I have until April 4th to transform my body. Wish me luck!

That night we went to Aaron’s mom’s and hung out with his aunt, her daughter and her daughter’s kids. It was a nice night in. Until Joaquin jumped off a stair and fell on his face and bit a giant gash into his lip. Ugh, blood everywhere. He was so upset about it, and wanted the hurt to stop. I felt so bad for him. Eventually he recovered enough to eat a red velvet cupcake, so all was OK after all. Ugh, bloody toddler face is no bueno. He had planned to stay the night at Aaron’s mom’s house, so around 8p, we said our goodbyes as he happily splashed in ‘Gigi’s‘ bath and made our way home. We snuggled in for another three episodes of Sons of Anarchy and enjoyed some adult beverages.

We BLISSFULLY slept in until 10a the next day. I haven’t done that since.... I have no idea when. It was awesome. We headed to the gym where I ran for the first time since my big race last weekend. It was nice, and my knees didn’t hurt TOO bad, so that was good. I only ran a half hour, but then walked for about 40 minutes. I showered and grabbed lunch at LettuceGo while Aaron finished his workout. We brought lunch over to Gigi’s and hung out with her and Joaquin for a few hours. It was nice.. we started watching the Golden Globe red carpet show and then realized it was getting late, so we scurried home so we could eat dinner and watch the main event. About 5 minutes before we got home, Joaquin fell asleep AT 5:30PM IN THE CAR. His usual bedtime is 8p-8:30p so we were trying SO HARD to wake him up. We went to the grocery store to pick up a few odds and ends, and thought that would rouse him, but nope. He was SO EXHAUSTED he couldn’t keep his sweet little eyes open.

So we brought him home, changed him into his PJs and put him in his crib, fully expecting him to wake up within a few hours demanding to be fed. But he only really woke up a few times throughout the night, and each time settled himself back to sleep. All-in-all he slept 14 HOURS. UNREAL. I guess he needed to catch up on some Zzzzzzs.

Anyway, that allowed us to watch the Golden Globes and get in bed by 9p since the show started so early on the West Coast. We figured we should call it an early night because of the early ass bedtime, but I guess we should’t have worried.

ANYWAY. Today is MONDAY. I’m easing into the work week on sip of coffee at a time. OH, and I’m measuring and logging all my food this week, just to see how many calories I actually consume in a day. Next week I’ll be making some adjustments, but for now I’m not going to stress too much about consumption. The goal this week is just to be aware.

Hope you are all having a fabulous Monday. Until the next day.


Last updated January 12, 2015


You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.