Headed back to therapy... in Drifting along like a Tumbling Tumbleweed...

  • Jan. 12, 2015, 6:19 p.m.
  • |
  • Public

So I have a therapy appointment today. First one in a REALLY long time (like 4 years) and I’m terrified.

I know I need to go back. All the shit that happened over Christmas confirmed that for me, but I’m scared of the outcome. Scared that I will need to make some radical changes in my life (including a divorce). Scared that I won’t be willing to make the changes I need to make so I can be happy. Scared of what will happen if I do make the changes. Scared to find out who I really am without anyone else trying to define that for me.

So typical therapy fears I guess.

The good news is that I like the therapist and he’s helped me with a TON of stuff already, so at least I don’t have to go back and tell all the old stories over again.


Genevieve January 12, 2015

{{hugs}}

Tumbling Tumbleweed Genevieve ⋅ January 12, 2015

Thanks!

Waiting For Sunrise January 12, 2015

Well done on recognising that you need help, and being brave enough to reach out for it. I hope it helps you on your journey.

Tumbling Tumbleweed Waiting For Sunrise ⋅ January 12, 2015

Thank you! I appreciate all the support!

Beautiful*Mistake January 12, 2015

I'm proud of you. Truly.

Tumbling Tumbleweed Beautiful*Mistake ⋅ January 12, 2015

Thank you! It's still scary, but I HAVE to do it.

EvequeFou January 20, 2015

Finding a therapist you click with is at least half the battle. I was fortunate to find, after a couple calls, someone who worked out well for me. Emilie's never managed that -- even though I (and sometimes she) think she'd benefit, she always feels like they're not really listening to her, just slotting her into categories they're comfortable with.

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.