Traveling in My this and that

  • Jan. 12, 2015, 12:10 p.m.
  • |
  • Public

So, about 40 minutes after I wrote that last entry, Ben sat down beside me and said “lets just make a decision. Let’s decide we’re going to Europe, and we’ll save as much as we can and if we don’t save quite enough, we’ll borrow from our savings” I know borrowing from our savings is NOT something he wants to do, and to be honest neither do I. I’m going to work extra hard to save money. That means cooking EVERY DAY, no eating out, no impulse grocery shopping just because I’m lazy. That means, thinking ahead and making sure meat is taken out of the freezer and thawed. That means, curbing my buying of make up. That means another year of no buying clothes, OR FABRIC! I’ve been blessed with abundant amounts of fabric, so now just use what I’ve got. Maybe I’ll even learn to shop sales at the grocery store instead of just buying whatever I want. Also, I’m not going to go to the naturopath. I do want to be healthy… but I can be healthy in what I eat and exercise, and if I need medical help I’ll go to a doctor at a clinic that’s completely covered… so there are things I can do to save, and Ben has mentioned when we know exactly what we are saving for it won’t be so hard to turn down the $2 coffees at Tim Horton’s. Every $2 counts!

So last night we spent well over an hour looking at topdeck.travel trying to find the perfect tour for us. We know someone who used that site, and had an amazing vacation. So many choices! Turkey, Italy, Greece, Ireland, Scotland! I’m not even exactly sure how we will decide… but we’ll figure it out. (Did you know there is a tour of the cost of Turkey for less than $800 for six days?!?!?! craziness… no that doesn’t include airfare, but it does include all breakfasts, and some dinners, and your 5 nights in hotels, plus guided tours!)

So it’s fun to look and see what’s available, but also decision making can be hard! Of course don’t want to choose the most expensive one, but I also don’t want to be camping the whole time… I’m leaning towards Italy, but the one we liked may be a bit pricey for us by a few hundred dollars, so we’ll see.


Analene January 12, 2015

Exciting! As a proud Irish woman, I can only recommend a visit here :)

EvequeFou January 12, 2015

I would recommend Rick Steves very highly: tours, books, and TV shows. The books help deal with situations like the one you described, because they give very helpful tips about what attractions are worthwhile, how much time to allow, etc. and give maps you can actually use. His tours are reputedly excellent as well, though we haven't actually taken one. The TV shows (all available for free on Hulu) give you a great sense of the different places you might visit, the history, and what you might want to do there. (And they're a passable substitute for the places you can't get to!)

We relied on the Rick Steves books to plan our trip to Europe several years ago, and encountered a number of other people doing the same. He's very budget-focused, and the materials helped us stretch our money as far as it would go.

chel_c January 14, 2015

if i could go anywhere in the world i'd go to Ireland... its so beautiful and simple.

i hear Greece is amazing! and warm, so you'd get a "Caribbean" trip and a Europe trip in one!

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.