Figurine in In the Meadow

  • Jan. 11, 2015, 8:08 p.m.
  • |
  • Public

This is going to be kind of a cheesy entry. One year I bought my grandma a cat figurine for Christmas. Truthfully I don’t think she really liked it, but she never said anything and she displayed it on her windowsill to make me feel good. My grandma passed away in 2008. Since then I’ve sort of felt grandma’s presence around the cat figurine. It sounds silly and I know realistically I’m just imagining it, but it’s a nice thought to have.

My dad has done a fair amount of overseas travel in the last few years. The past two weeks he has been in Italy. He just arrived home yesterday. I have a figurine of the Empress Elisabeth of Austria that my dad got for me on one of his trips to Europe. I have been keeping it next to the cat figurine. A few days ago I accidentally knocked it over and the head fell off. I think I can glue it back together. But anyway, when it broke I sort of thought that it was grandma telling me that she was worried about my dad. He was in Italy and nowhere near the situation in France, but it would have worried my grandma. I know it’s really just a coincidence, but it makes me happy to think grandma is communicating with me, so I’ll probably keep thinking it.


You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.