Charming, not sincere in One day at a time

  • Jan. 7, 2015, 10:01 p.m.
  • |
  • Public

I have had a busy week so far. I think I may have mentioned that all my friends are still on leave from work – we get 4 statuary days over Xmas/New Year, so you don’t have to dip into too much vacation time to have a decent break. I work through because it is quiet here, and they usually let us leave early, so it is an easy ride.

So yeah, they are all on holiday and not worried about late nights. It’s all been about the movies as a lot of bars/restaurants are closed while everyone retreats to their summer happy places. Sunday Terri and I saw Horrible Bosses two. It was in a word – Horrible. I couldn’t see any humour in it at all and felt kind of frustrated at how stupid the main characters were. I wouldn’t even bother to watch this on free to air television. The only thing that raised a smile out of me was the bloopers played during the credits, oh and Chris Pine – where has that wee hotty been all my life?

Tuesday Dana and I did our regular eyebrow thread/dinner/movie night. We saw Mr Turner, an English film about the painter. It was such a beautiful movie in terms of cinematography, but they could easily have shaved 45 minutes off it (it started at 8.15pm and finished at 10.45pm). He had a housekeeper (that he occasionally slept with) and she started the movie with a rash on the back of her neck that by the end of it was all over her body. I googled her when I got home and apparently it was psoriasis. I texted Dana and and said “Thank goodness for modern medications, there by the grace of God go I” When I did finally turn the light out it was about 12.30am and I couldn’t sleep. Grrrr.

Last night I went to the movies again – Janey had won free tickets through a radio station to “Into the woods”. That was an interesting one, sort of a mish mash of a lot of fairy tales. I was surprised at the number of actors who put in credible singing performances too. And of course there was Chris Pine as Prince Charming. My favourite line from the movie was his “I’m Charming, not sincere”. Anyway it was quite a dark romp but enjoyable. We then went to a tapas bar for dinner. Got back to J’s car to discover we had left the lights on, so had to get someone out to jump the battery – another late night.
My to do list for after work today is quite concise. Stop at vet for cat food, early night. Jealous much??


FormerlyMe January 07, 2015

*Sharla January 08, 2015

Meirra January 10, 2015

Into the Woods sounds interesting but I'll probably wait till its on disk or On Demand/Netflix.

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.