Day 3. in 2015

  • Jan. 7, 2015, 4:30 p.m.
  • |
  • Public

I don’t think I wrote about the upheaval that happened at work just before the break. But I do think I predicted it. Anyway, as predicted, our other ‘partner’ has decided to pursue other opportunities and it’s thrown us into a bit of a lurch. In many ways, it has the potential to be VERY good for us. But we have to sort of batten down the hatches and weather the initial storm until things are clear and bright again.

The first sign that things will be OK came today in the form of a renewal of a year-long project. It was pretty huge to see the approval come in today; not because we didn’t expect it (we did) but because if something had gone wrong in the procurement process, we would have been in a huge pile of crapshit. But YAY, we are not going to be in a huge pile of crapshit. As I was writing this, another project approval just came through, and we are waiting on another HUGE approval, so it’s looking VERY bright for 2015. Very bright indeed.

My role is also changing. For the past few years I’ve been very involved in financial matters for the company. Thankfully, Liana is taking this back on which will free me up to focus more on the qual fieldwork and management of our employee(s). I’m very happy about this. We’re going to be super busy, so it will be nice to NOT have to think about invoicing and chasing down payments and all the stuff associated with that end of the biz. Yay.

Joaquin continues to grow his vocabulary and understanding of concepts in ways that never cease to amaze me. He’s now very articulate about what he “yikes” (likes) and doesn’t “yike.” For example, I was singing him a silly song about his dinosaurs, and I was told “Momma, I don’t yike that. It hurts my ears. No sing.” Dang. That smarts.

Good thing he’s the most adorable kid in the universe.


MaggieTheCat January 07, 2015

I guess you can't have an ego and a kid! ;)

rubix cube MaggieTheCat ⋅ January 08, 2015

Haha so true!!!

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.