Snow day in Dana Bell

  • Jan. 6, 2015, 10:52 p.m.
  • |
  • Public

I’m improving on updating!

Today was much better than yesterday. I really don’t have anything exciting to report. Just typing so this will become a habit.

I made chicken and noodles in the crock pot for dinner. Seemed like an appropriate meal for the weather we’re having. A piping hot bowl of carbs never disappoints! The expected snow storm showed up right on time. I’d say we have a good 4 inches on the ground.

Syd’s lip is a bit swollen/red from her tumble yesterday and the bruise on her forehead isn’t as bad as I thought it was going to be. I’ve convinced myself that putting ice on it afterward helped even though she fought it.
She’s just at that age where I feel like I want to put a bubble around her. I know, I sound like a rookie. This whole mom thing is still new. Or at least that’s my excuse. I feel like I’ll never be great at it but I know I don’t completely suck at it either. My mother in law tells me I worry too much and that I’m a wonderful mother. It helps to hear but as a parent you’re always wondering if you’re doing everything “right”. Kind of hard to explain.
Either way, she’s fine. She was full of energy today.
She’s started putting complete sentences together lately and asking questions. She surprised us by saying “I’m Sydney Isabel”. Another out of the blue sentence was “I’m hungry. I want to eat.” Well, I guess if we’re being accurate here that’s 2 sentences.
It’s great we can actually communicate with her now and she understands us. It’s like it happened overnight. I can ask her questions and she responds. She even makes her own decisions. (I’ll ask her what she wants to eat, what she wants to play with.....etc)

Not looking forward to PT tomorrow. Ugh. My neck and shoulder are already hurting just mentioning it.

Well, that’s it for today. Suppose I should go to bed.


whowhatwhere January 07, 2015

I still get all, where is your roll of bubble tape so I can wrap it all around you. Just wait till the first kid is mean to her, OMG!

Keep typing, this habit is a good one!

~daydreamer~ January 07, 2015

I would be a nervous wreck as a mom. I worry enough about myself. Don't beat yourself up. It's normal and kids getting hurt is totally normal. And if you're worrying about being a good mom, guess what? It means you're a good mom! Bad moms don't care!!!

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.