Happy in My new life, a book

  • Jan. 6, 2015, 2:23 p.m.
  • |
  • Public

Happy Newyear
Happy people
Happy family
Happy me!

There’s enough to write about. I just wasn’t in the right mood and needed a bit of encouragement (Thank you A)

Happy Newyear, a general wish from me to all of you. If I know people better I often wish them a good health because of the importance it has for me.

Happy people, an article in a certain paper about the Dutch. In contradistinction to the fact that we as a nation are notorious for our attitute of complaining it seems we feel much happier than you may expect. The fourth on the list of happiest countries!
The first places are for Denmark, Norway and Finland.

You can look up your country’s position in the World Happiness Report. Sorry, couldn’t ad a link to this entry. :-(

Happy family, my son, my sister, brothers-in-law....
A year ago son decided to leave his girlfriend for a while to try out if being apart might fix their relation. The answer was negative. He lived very basic, only a little room and a shared bathroom. Then out of the blue he was offered a two-bedroom house with a garden and a shed. Wow!
While on holiday together we went shopping for a shawl for a girl at home. I didn’t know who till recently. He’s seriously in love. Meeting each other always needed organising because there was a little girl involved. Yes, she has a daughter.
Finally on Michaels birthday on the third of Januari it was the right moment for the three of them to meet. They went to Amsterdam together and visited the Tropenmuseum.
From a distance we, Tom and I, are following further developments. Happy with his happiness.
Tomorrow is my sisters birthday, she will be 64 but looks 46, very fit. I can’t compete with her and don’t have to. She gave me a book “Gouden jaren”, a discription of 50 years Duch history of daily life. Such a, what we call aha-erlebnis, an experience of recognising your own past. Great!

Happy me, and why shouldn’t I feel happy… it is 15 months since my operation. I’d accepted to die… or at least accepted not to be cured. Now I do a lot that would have been impossible a year ago. Swimming, cycling, gardening.........
and secretly thinking I might become a step-grandmum. A thought I’d given up even dreaming about for years.


elaine2 January 06, 2015

What a wonderfully positive post. I was smiling as I read it. Best wishes to you for a terrific 2015.

Deleted user January 06, 2015

What a lovely thought - step grandma! Happy New Year, I wish you many more xxx

Deleted user January 06, 2015

Yes, this is a happy entry, and how nice to read it! I have a young Dutch friend here, and she is very honest and says what she thinks - I wonder if that is why sometimes Dutch people are thought to be unhappy. They will say they don't like this or that, while we English-speakers are less honest? I don't know, but I do know that it makes my heart glad to still see you here, and feeling so positive. Yes, to be a grandma of any kind would be wonderful. I hope it works out well for him.

jamez January 07, 2015

A nice entry and fitting for a new year, I’m cleaning out the sun lounge today thus I’m not so happy until I’ve finished! Wishing you many healthy and happy new years.

Fishermanswife January 12, 2015

Actuelly some comments made me blush. Thank you all!

bill_gardner March 14, 2015

Always best to be happy. There are so many beautiful things in the world. Keep smiling.
cheers and hugs from Canada
bill

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.