I Got a Name & to you it ain't hey or baby. in Usual Shenanigans

  • Jan. 5, 2015, 1:52 p.m.
  • |
  • Public

Girl in a Country Song-Maddie & Tae.

Let me just say that I really tried hard not to like this song, because it’s annoying at points and puts down some of my favorite artists, but at the same time, it has a good message at other points and it’s catchy!

I’m realizing I love mainstream country, but I’m also loving more of the “unknown” country music. The Josh Abbott Band, Aaron Watson, Granger Smith, etc, etc. I’m kind of obsessed with Love You Like That by Canaan Smith. “I’m not some pretty city boy, I’m more of a Fishin’ in the Dark, Nitty Gritty boy.” Can I have one of those kind of men?

Can we just talk about wanderlust for a minute too? Because I’m very much suffering from it right now, but I’m not even sure if that’s true because hypothetically I would love in a new place, but I also know that I do best when I have my people close and I can go home for a day or two and just love on them. & I get homesick at times still, too and I’ve been on my own for 8 months now. Which doesn’t even seem possible actually.

After you moved out of your parents for the first time, how long did it start taking you to realize that their home wasn’t your home anymore? I was talking to Lynn-Mom about this and she said it took her all of her first marriage and a year or so into her marriage with my Dad to realize home wasn’t mom and dad’s anymore, but it was with us. And by that time she had been out of her parents for the better part of ten years. Not saying that’s a bad thing, and honestly, my Dad and Lynn-Mom’s will always where I consider home over my Mom’s house. I always felt more welcome and a part of things at my Dad’s. Does that make sense? I’m totally rambling, but sometimes the words just flow out of me like lava.

Work momma and I had a heart to heart last night, usually it’s me breaking down and her needing to cheer me up, but last night, she was really down about not being able to work because her legs have been so weak this last almost week now. She told me that she wanted one of my known hugs from and wanted to make sure I knew just how much I meant to her & I do, but it’s sometimes good to hear! I think that’s why work has been taking everything from me lately, because I haven’t had my work partner in crime to fall back on & vent to, and I love talking to you guys, I really do, but sometimes you just need your Momma, work, Lynn or real mom!

My cousin Spencer and his Mom, my honorary Aunt(her and my uncle are divorced but I LOVE her!) came and surprised me at work the other night & that was really awesome. I haven’t seen her in person since they got divorced which was back in 2005 or 2006 I believe? I can’t remember exactly. We’ve kept up via Facebook though, so it was really great to see her. Also it was nice to see my Best Cousin Friend before he leaves for the East Coast and school again :(

All right, I have to go finish getting ready for work, love you all!

xo,

meghan.


RomanTurtle January 05, 2015

Yep, I'm mainly only mainstream country cuz I don't even know about those peeps. But I haven't ever been to your PB before now, so now I've seen you here too! "Hi."

•kitkat• January 06, 2015

I listen to a lot of mainstream and not mainstream music....but it's not country. Usually EDM or something like that. Craig sends me a lot of stuff to listen to.

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.