Back to Routine in Diary

  • Jan. 4, 2015, 11:53 a.m.
  • |
  • Public

Me and Jay both got bad colds so didn’t go out on New Year’s Eve :o( Jay thought he had ‘flu, but it wasn’t, it was a bad cold. Headache, fever, congestion, aching muscles. True, some of the symptoms are the same as ‘flu but really, when you have ‘flu it feels like you’re dying. Anyway, neither of us were well enough to go out so we stayed in, didn’t drink anything and struggled to stay awake for midnight. When the clock struck, I grabbed his hand and made him sing Auld Lang Syne. Well, he sat there looking half dead while I bobbed his hand up and down and I sang Auld Lang Syne. Then World War Three started outside with millions of fireworks, church bells and car horns all going off. I went out to watch the fireworks and it was really warm, about 11C at midnight on New Year! Quite bizarre.

It’s the first time I haven’t celebrated New Year since I was a child :o(

Being ill also meant I didn’t get to go to the screening for my medical trial as they require that you haven’t been ill or taken any medication within the last month, so that’s a bummer. I’m never going to get to do one!

I did have a mystery shop the other day though, so we got a free pub lunch out of it. Jay hadn’t left the house in four days but a free trip to the pub persuaded him to go. However, he wanted to come home after an hour so he must have been really ill as the pub is normally his home from home; some days I tell him he might as well just move in.

We both still have the cold now but we’re recovering. I have a job interview tomorrow so I hope I can breathe and talk well enough for that. Please let me get this job!

Yesterday and today were my first full days off work since December 22nd, so I haven’t even left the house. I spent all day yesterday photographing and listing loads of stuff on eBay. Me and Jay both got new clothes for Christmas so we had a clear out of some of our old stuff. I’ve listed 38 items between us but we have so many clothes it’s hardly made a dent! Jay said if I did the work with the listings and posting out the items for him, then we can put all the money into our joint bank account and maybe start on decorating the house or something. It should do quite well; when he buys new clothes, he never tries them on in the shop so, if he gets home and they don’t fit, he doesn’t bother taking them back. This means that he’s got loads of clothes that he’s never worn still with the tags on such as a £35 shirt and four pairs of £20 trousers. Such a waste of money but we’ll hopefully make some of it back.

I got on the scales this morning and got a nice surprise. Most people put weight on over Christmas, but not me; I’ve lost 4lb in the last couple of weeks, even though I’ve done less exercise (no roller derby and hardly any dogs to walk) and over indulged on chocolate. I now weigh less than I have since a time I can’t remember, 9st 12lb (138lb); weeee, under 10 stone! In your face Christmas! I honestly have no idea how that’s happened, my body is weird.

Oh well, that’s the excitement of Christmas and New Year over for another year, back to normal tomorrow.


~Twinkle~ January 04, 2015

Lucky you with losing weight! Hope you feel better soon. Good luck with the interview xxx

Bomb Shell ~Twinkle~ ⋅ January 04, 2015

Thanks! :o) x

Lucretia January 04, 2015

I always lose weight over Christmas too, all the rich food is too much of a shock for my system. Whatever the reason - yey!

I hope you're back to full strength soon x

Bomb Shell Lucretia ⋅ January 04, 2015

Ha, maybe you're right, our bodies are going "What is all this sugar and fat laden rubbish? Best just send it right through."

Babe In Toyland January 04, 2015

I think we all caught dad's lurgy. If it is, no wonder he didn't want to come to the pub with us! I can barely stand up without feeling sick and sounding like Darth Vader.

Deleted user January 06, 2015

Hope you are feeling better now, what a shame you couldn't do your medical trial!

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.