20 years... in Prosebox Desert Island Discs

  • Jan. 3, 2015, 11:27 p.m.
  • |
  • Public

Did you know that this summer marks 20 YEARS since Bon Jovi released These Days? They toured it round the world and played Northern Town at a scummy rundown record shop with a lunchtime appearance where they hung out the windows to perform to the crowd below… where of course I was standing having skived off school.

(Hey what’s new? I spent about 50% of my time skiving off school - and if you looked at my attendance on my least favourite lessons, it would be way worse. I don’t think I made french class for about 2 terms before someone noticed…)

However the difference is that this time it was somewhat sanctioned by my dad… let me explain. Back then my dad ran a big travel agency and was always buying advertising from the local radio stations who were of course covering this extravaganza - and as a favoured client he got given a press pass to it which he knew I’d love so gave it to me, knowing fine well it was a school day and in the middle of the day.

My mum had previously blocked me from seeing my all time favourite band Guns N Roses at Milton Keynes Superbowl despite me having acquired the tickets already and arranged transport etc. She just didn’t want me to go - no particular reason, just being annoying. I’d sulked all summer. I still sulk about it now because it was so utterly unfair. I will never see the proper GNR line up… it is entirely her fault.

Anyway… my dad thought this would make up for it and knew she wouldn’t approve so just told me not to tell her. Which i didn’t, but unfortunately the guy who got me the access all areas pass mentioned it to her the day afterwards on the phone and she blew a gasket - seriously they didn’t speak to one another for about 2 weeks. Mega mega fall out.

Anyway - this prosebox island disc goes out to my dad who did something supremely cool. (And yes i do realise Bon Jovi are not the least bit cool! I don’t care!)

alt text


Last updated January 04, 2015


wintergrey January 03, 2015

Instead of my college graduation party/ceremony (if there was one, I later heard they all got food poisoning), I went to a Bryan Adams concert. I don't think that was ever cool, either, lol! I will make a determined effort to outsmart Ticketmaster and actually get my hands on Bon Jovi tickets, the next time they tour. Apparently it's not my mother who keeps me away from concerts, but Ticketmaster refusing to sell me tickets (have you noticed that in the good old days before internet it was much easier to get concert tickets?). Hope they'll tour again soon. Take care,

I need tea. January 04, 2015

Florentine January 05, 2015

20 years!? I feel old! My first proper concert was Pearl Jam at 13. I missed a soccer game, but that was it (and was probably super excited to skip it because I didn't actually enjoy playing soccer!).

Mel January 06, 2015

OMG!!! I am so jealous! :)

Etoile Filante January 06, 2015

I LOVED Bon Joni xXx

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.