New Year, New start in 2015

  • Jan. 2, 2015, 9:55 p.m.
  • |
  • Public

Oh wow…when was the last time I wrote?

Damn, it’s been a while.

Dave bought me a MacBook Pro for Christmas, so I really have no more excuses to not write. I mean, 3 kids DO keep you busy, but there should be some time in there to jot down a few things.

So yeah, 3 kids.

Paige is 6, Kira is turning 4 in about a month, and Zoë is about 10 months old.

Quick updates on the three. Let’s start with Paige.

Child is reading on about a 4th or 5th grade level (with comprehension skills as well) and her math skills are crazy good. “Santa” brought her Snap Circuits for Christmas and she’s completely gaga over them. She still does gymnastics, still loves swimming, still loves to be the center of attention. Really a good kid. But we are still dealing with ADD/ADHD and extreme lack of self-discipline. It can definitely be interesting.

Kira is, well, Kira. Strong-willed, crazy, Kira. She’s our little mama. Constantly nurturing her baby dolls, helping with Zoë, making sure things are just right. With that comes her incessant need to tattle on EVERYTHING. And she’s our night-owl…usually not falling asleep until her sisters have been out for at least an hour. She finally potty-trained, so she got to start taking gymnastics this fall. And daddy promised that she would be able to play soccer this spring. Back to gymnastics…she LOVES it. And she’s built like a gymnast, short & extremely muscular. No kidding, the kid has a 6 pack at 3/4. It’s crazy.

My baby…my little monster baby Zoë. She only says “mama” when she’s mad, but “daddy” gets all the happy chatter. I think our luck has run out and we finally have a climber. And I wouldn’t be surprised if she was walking at a year. I think she was 21 pounds and 29 inches tall at 9 months. Definitely more like Paige in body type than Kira. She is not a huge fan of pureed baby food and pretty much went straight into eating our food. I’m okay with that. I know what’s in it and it’s cheaper. She definitely fits her name (“life”) and as difficult as life can be with 3, I wouldn’t want it any other way.

Me? Well, I’m making it. It was an exciting year (first trip to Utah, first trip to Europe {Munich and Oberstaufen, Germany; Paris, France [where I got mugged!]}, last baby, beach vacation, 50 pound weight-loss) and our plans for the up-coming year are pretty awesome. As of right now, we have a trip to Denver for a wedding that the girls are going be a part of, a trip to Salt Lake City for just me and Dave, and a week-long Disney cruise to the Western Caribbean (with a stop in Disney World, we hope). And (hopefully) the biggest news? Dave making partner. At this point, the firm has to have a severely bad year or he has to mess up in epic proportions for him to not be partner come November.

Homeschooling is still going decently well. Paige is flying through her work-books. With only working about 2 months, Paige finished 1/2 of her curriculum. Kind of hoping to get through all of it quickly so we can do the fun things, without feeling like we are constantly behind. I’m a little nervous to have our first review this spring (part of Ohio’s requirements), but I honestly don’t think we will have an issue. And all of our traveling is actually extremely beneficial. When we went to Utah, we visited 4 or 5 different National Parks and I made her do the Junior Ranger program. Might as well! I figure we’ve likely already bypassed our 800 hours :-P.

Well, that got lengthy. So I’ll wrap this up. I hope everyone is doing well and enjoying life. After all, it’s the only one we have (unless you believe in reincarnation).

~Kel~


Last updated January 02, 2015


No comments.

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.