2014 in Winter 2014/2015

  • Jan. 1, 2015, 8:36 a.m.
  • |
  • Public

What did you do in 2014 that you have never done before?

Stuffed dates with chorizo, wrapped it in bacon and fried it… It was an amazing flavour! Ummm, worked in a school for money. I worked in schools for twelve years between the ages of 4 and 16 but no one ever actually paid me for it! Then there was volunteering in schools. That, by description, means that I didn’t get paid too… I created photo books, also not something that I’ve done before… I became the mother of a nine year old, and didn’t have any children under the age of six… I closed a business that was successful, didn’t need closing financially but was of my choice.

Did you keep your New Year’s resolutions, and will you make more for next year?

I don’t do resolutions, I believe in doing what you want to do when you want to do it.

Did anyone close to you give birth?

Not that I can think of!!

Did anyone close to you die?

No one that I can remember.

What countries did you visit?

None! Not even Wales which is only a couple of hours away by car!

What would you like to have in 2015 that you didn’t have in 2014?

A new kitchen, relaxation time, less fear around my job and what i need to doing.

What date in 2014 will remain etched in your memory?

There aren’t any specific dates, but events would be The Big De-Childminding Sale and the purchase of a trampoline with the proceeds.

Of course the interviews, the year 6 maths SAT test on which I got 98%, the fun day when i bought the interview outfit and sending pictures all over for opinions. The phone call offering the job. And of course, starting the job.

What was your biggest achievement of the year?

Getting my new job. I worked bloody hard for it, it certainly wasn’t luck.

As well as this was giving up sugar. It has mainly been easy but there have been tough times too. The first couple of weeks just took enormous amounts of will power but once the cravings stopped it became easy. There were a few times when I ate out and something i had must have had sugar in because I then craved sweetness for the next two or three days. Also Christmas was tough as people just fill their houses with cakes and mince pies, cheesecake and chocolates. Although I didn’t crave any of it I was faced with strong desires to ‘just have a bit’. But, I know where ‘a bit’ will lead…

What was your biggest failure?

Keeping my patience with my children, especially my older one as she grows older and hormones kick in.

Did you suffer any illness or injury?

After three weeks of working, plantar fasciitis feelings started again so i had to abandon new, expensive and gorgeous work shoes. I replaced them with some Dr Martin Mary Jane’s. They’re sooooo comfy, and after a couple of weeks the twinges stopped. As for illness, I’ve had one cold, everyone else who caught it had time off work/school but I was okay. I’ve found that my immune system is insanely kick arse since giving up the sugar!

What was the best thing you bought?

I haven’t bought a lot because it’s been a very tight money year, taking a day off a week to volunteer in school made a huge difference then summer was very low earning because of the transition to my school job. However - I would have to say it’s my new sewing machine, a Victorian treadle machine in an exquisite cabinet. I love it so much!!

 photo Screenshot_2014-09-22-22-52-42_1.jpg

Whose behavior needed improvement?

Both girls had behaviour charts which worked incredibly well, they both proved that they can behave really well when they want to.

Whose behavior merited celebration?

Both girls, who no longer use the behaviour charts but are keeping the positive behaviour (mostly).

Where did most of your money go?

Mostly on life. Mortgage, food, heat etc…

What did you get really, really excited about?

The new job!

What songs will always remind you of 2014?

Pharrel Williams, Happy and Let It Go, Leeet Iiit Gooooooooooo......

What do you wish you’d done less of?

Messing with my phone.

What do you wish you’d done more of?

Running - but tally and I are going to start running soon. Ps. I just noticed that the dates I bought for last night’s tapas bonanza have glucose syrup on!! Oh bollocks!

How did you spend Christmas?

It was really lovely. On Christmas Eve Rich and I talked about about Bibotea who planning to spend Christmas in her hostel room with a sandwich and her book. While that could well have been her choice we wanted her to know that she could have a lovely English Christmas with us, if she wanted. And she came!! We had our presents in the morning, lunch followed by a walk around our local country park. In the evening we watched The Snowman and The Snowdog. The day after we drove up north to visit family, leaving Bibotea in our house to have a chill out day and some privacy.

Which OD/PBers did you meet for the first time?

For the first time were Mrs Long and Bibotea, and for second time was ~mujer~. All were really lovely meetings.

Did you fall in love in 2014?

Only every time I stopped to look at Rich.

How many one night stands?

None :-D

What was your favorite TV show?

Big Bang Theory, I don’t know why, I just really enjoy it.

Do you hate anyone now that you didn’t hate this time last year?

I don’t do hate.

What were the best books you read?

I re-read a lot of my Fannie Flagg books this year, but i started reading Marina by Carlos Ruiz Zafon. I’m reading it in Spanish which is hard work so it’s slow going but i really love it :-)

What was your greatest musical discovery?

Parov Stellar. They’re a French electro swing band and I really, really love them. Then, a couple of days ago I heard a song on radio that I really liked. It was sung by someone who (I think) was called Lapsiley.

What did you want and get?

To give up childminding and work in a school.

What did you want and not get?

To work in a school nearer the girls’ school.

What was your favorite film this year?

We’ve seen three movies at the cinema - Earth to Echo, Paddington and Get Santa. Paddington was by far my favourite.

What did you do on your birthday and how old were you?

I was 44 and I had a day at work followed by a nice birthday tea and presents with family.

What one thing would have made your year more satisfying?

Having enough money to worry less, work less and live the life my rose tinted glasses would like.

How would you describe your personal fashion concept in 2014?

Primary school staff member! Smart trousers or leggings with smart tops or tunics with Dr Martin’s Mary Janes!

What kept you sane?

My singular sense of determination, hugs and you guys.

Which celebrity did you fancy the most?

Interestingly enough, I was just telling Lila earlier that i didn’t want to think about Mr Tumble’s willy or bottom. This was based on her question regarding the placement of spots upon various unseen body parts!

Which political issues stirred you the most?

Anything to do with Nigel Fuckrrage. Speaking as a pacifist, the man’s face just makes me want to smack him!

Who did you miss?

My mum.

Who was the best new person you met?

NEW new would be the student teacher at school, known-for-years new would be Bibotea.

What valuable life lesson did you learn this year?

If you really want something, make a plan and go for it. It may take a long time but it’s possible.

What are your greatest hopes for 2015?

That it will bring me some nice surprises and stability.


~Twinkle~ January 01, 2015

I'm going to steal this later :) xx

thesunnyabyss January 01, 2015

I may steal this later today, very interesting!

Deleted user January 01, 2015

This is so lovely. Its been quite a year for you, thanks for taking us along on the ride!

Deleted user January 01, 2015

It must feel so good to go to that job now, and not the old one. And that is one absolutely gorgeous cabinet.

And meeting Bilbotea! Well, that is just amazingly wonderful beyond all reason. You are good people.

Happy New Year!

edna million January 02, 2015

I'm going to have to steal this too- what an interesting entry! You certainly had quite a year, with lots of good things... JOB!!! I absolutely love that sewing machine and the cabinet too. Do you use it? I have a small old machine from my grandmother that I need to have adjusted (not as old and cool as the Victorian one but probably from the 50s) and my mom's one from the 70s I think- which is a nice little machine, but I am not much of a seamstress.

ermentrude edna million ⋅ January 03, 2015

I have the machines - an old wooden singer with a hand crank, a 70's electric one in a lovely shade of green and this one. I use the electric one mostly but the new one will take a lot of practice to get smooth stitches, the treadle is fun but I can't always keep it going! X

edna million January 03, 2015

OH and I love Big Bang Theory. We just started watching it this past year (I think - all the years keep blending together, but it hasn't been that long ago) and it's hysterical.

Deleted user January 04, 2015

Loved this !

Deleted user January 04, 2015

I love Sheldon :-) and the way they write his character as a combo of Brilliant Asberger's , OCD, multiple phobias and Add a dash of Tourette's !

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.