W30, day 1 in Whole 30/post w30 eating

Revised: 01/02/2015 3:29 p.m.

  • Jan. 1, 2015, 5 a.m.
  • |
  • Public

(Grrrr....I thought I posted this last night and apparently didn’t uncheck draft. Postdating this!)

Man…I might have to avoid Pinterest during this. I just opened it up and the first thing was a cheesecake nutella twist. Evil.

I took my “before” weight and measurements this morning (that was a horrifying experience. I need to remember that any time I’m tempted to cheat. Ugh.). Now no weighing or measuring or counting ANYTHING, body or food, until the end. I’m not going to lie…that makes me a little nervous.

Breakfast was relatively boring:
alt text
I just scrambled some eggs with some frozen pepper mix and had that, an orange, and a cup of blackberry sage tea (this tea here). That was the tea I always drank at ACRC in Fairbanks if I got tea, and I was so happy to spot it in a coffee shop a couple weeks ago.

I needed to go grocery shopping, so lunch was a little random as well, and I didn’t even think about taking a picture until I was halfway done. I made up a hamburger with a little garlic and melted ghee on top and just had a side of salad greens and some broccoli slaw with a thrown together balsamic vinaigrette. I LOVE broccoli slaw.

We just got back from the grocery store (where I spent 428958024 dollars on what feels like very little. But a significant chunk of that was olive oil, almond flour, and contact solution which I won’t have to buy again for awhile. I hope.) And now I’m in the middle of making the olive oil mayo recipe from the Whole 30 book so I can make the avocado dressing recipe from the book so I never have to suffer through a thrown together balsamic vinaigrette again. I didn’t really want to do it right now, but the avocado I got is super ripe and I feel like I need to make it right now. I really worried the mayo won’t turn out for me, though. I hear it can be finicky. Right now I’m waiting for the egg and lemon juice to come down to room temp so I can start the blending process.

I’m not sure what I’m going to make for dinner. What I want is this slow cooker recipe I got ingredients for, but I don’t have enough time to make that today. So I’ll probably make this sweet potato soup I found, but I need to figure out what protein I’m going to make with it. The only thing I have in the freezer are those burgers. I might have to eat some more eggs. I’m actually going to have the same problem tomorrow. I probably should’ve gotten some chicken at the store. Maybe I’ll run back tomorrow and at least grab some compliant lunch meat. Although chicken would probably be cheaper. I guess I can cook it and freeze it. Too. Much. Planning. And the store was out of my chicken and apple sausage, which is the real problem here because that’s what I was planning on eating for lunches. Boo.

Okay. Time to go back to the mayo. Full report later. Also, It’s 2:30 and I’m REALLY freaking hungry right now. :(


And it’s later. I successfully made the mayo, complete with successfully making a giant mess. The avocado dressing also turned out alright. I need to play around with seasoning it. I didn’t get any extras for it today, so it’s nothing too special. I’m also using way less salt the next time I make the mayo.

For dinner, I settled on this:
alt text
That’s some broccoli slaw, the other half of the avocado I used for the dressing, and some of the meat I’m using tomorrow in the crockpot recipe. I decided I didn’t want any more eggs today and figured it wouldn’t hurt to just steal a little meat from the pack for tomorrow. I was planning on eating this with the sweet potato soup, but I was too hungry to wait until I had it all pureed. I did taste a little of it though, and it’s SO good. With some tinkering I think I could have a lot of fun with the base recipe. It’s from a blog called The Clothes Make the Girl and it can be found here. I didn’t end up getting any bacon because it’s too expensive to get good bacon. I also forgot to grab some chives, so it’s pretty plain right now. But I think I’m going to take the suggestion of throwing a fried egg on it for breakfast tomorrow, and then I figured I could mix some of the crockpot beef recipe I’m making tomorrow with it for another meal. At some point, I’m also planning on making her golden cauliflower soup and that ginger zucchini soup. Both sound delish!

I was super duper tired today. It could be because I got up a little earlier than I meant to, but I’m also thinking it has a whole lot to do with the lack of sugar in my system (especially considering my breakfast lately has consisted of cookies....). I’m also thinking I’m starting to feel the sugar withdrawal a little in my head....a little dizzy and the beginning of a headache. I’m crossing my fingers that it won’t be too bad.

I’m also, like, super focused on sugar right now. I was thinking of nothing but cookies earlier, and just now I saw this picture of amazing looking donuts on fb and my mind is screaming donuts at me. I might have also had an omgineedpizzarightnow moment earlier. This might be a very VERY long month…


Last updated January 02, 2015


Deleted user January 02, 2015

Kudos to anyone who can do any sort of special 'diet' or food plan, etc. I couldn't stick to anything like that myself, it would stress me out. The planning, prepping ,etc. I prepped some lunches for the week and it reminds me why I opt to just buy lean cuisines lol

magicstar Deleted user ⋅ January 02, 2015

I was VERY resistant to the idea when a blogger I read over at sparkpeople started writing about her Whole 30. I had problems with cutting out all non veg/fruit carbs. But I've been feeling SO bad lately that I figured an elimination diet might be worth it to find out if I can link certain food groups to anything that's been going on. And I figured now was the time since I'm working from home and have the time for all the food prep. We'll see if I can stick with it!

WildflowerHeart January 03, 2015

The food looks delicious. It's always expensive to eat healthy. Fucked up. The more processed it is, the cheaper it is. Dafuq?

magicstar WildflowerHeart ⋅ January 03, 2015

Dafuq, indeed!

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.