Russia Day 5: Six Races & A Celebration in Magical Realism

  • Dec. 30, 2014, 11:34 a.m.
  • |
  • Public

After a night of celebration and not much sleep, the second and last day of competition was a packed one. We got ready, went to breakfast, and got ready to go. I’d somehow lost my credentials badge that had all my race times, so I tracked down a hard copy schedule and wrote everything down. I had six races and only four bathing suits, so I decided to suck it up and wear the first one three times to have fresh dry (warm!) suits for the last three, at least two of which were going to be in the dark. This ended up being an excellent call - 9 times out of 10 it’s best to get the worst part out of the way anyway.

First up was the 25 meter heads up breaststroke. I like breaststroke (in pool swimming, I was a butterflyer/individual medley, the longer the better, but liked breaststroke next best. Anything but freestyle!) but heads-up breaststroke is a different animal. And just one lap is barely enough to get me going. But it was a good warm-up. Next up was the 24 freestyle about an hour later, same thing pretty much. I am not a sprinter. Then we had the 50m breaststroke. A little better, but I wanted so badly to do an underwater pull-out. I managed not to, but must have ducked my eyes under slightly at some point because I got a 5 second penalty. Oops! I still got third, and place would have been the same with or without the penalty.

I have no idea which race(s) these are from because I wore the same suit/cap for each. (The only flaw in my plan!)

alt text

alt text

alt text

alt text

I caught the end of Z’s breaststroke race (his first one of the day) - he looked super sloppy, really slow, and did a huge underwater pull-out. Disqualified! I had a bit of a break, we ran to grab lunch, and then the 50 freestyle. I don’t know how it happened but I got 2nd place. I don’t think there are any photos of the race, but my time was surprisingly decent, considering no dive start, no flipturn, and um, zero degree water.

This might be a picture of the 50 free, or possibly from the day before.

alt text

Then it was time for the 200. I was nervous to do this one, as I thought it would be more of a race than the 450 and the 200 free was literally my least favorite event all through age group swimming. I was swimming with Mo and Luisa and Luisa was really nervous so coaching her through it helped to calm me down. We went in, got started and the race went by really quickly. Mo was ahead of me, but I felt smooth and went as fast as I was able.

alt text)

We finished a couple lengths ahead of Luisa, so took the time for some photo ops. (I like how we coordinated, me in black flag cap, white suit, and Mo in black suit, white American flag hat. Good and evil…me being the evil.)

alt text

alt text

Mo got out after photos (it was cold and DARK) but I stayed in as a show of support for Luisa and kept myself warm going crazy cheering her on. She is new to swimming but an amazing athlete (Brazilian national caliber kickboxer, icehockey, etc) and I’m so proud to call her my friend. I am continually surprised and astounded by the amazing friends I have made through this crazy sport.

After the 200 we had just enough time to get dried off and get ready for RELAYS!!! I was ridiculously proud to be part of the USA relay - I didn’t think this would happen as you only need to have 1 female and Mo is faster than me, but since I was in the top 4 fastest Americans I was in. So proud. I was actually most nervous for this as I was starting off the relay and didn’t want to let the team down. Plus somehow I was colder than I’d been all day. But we hung out in the holding tent, and then it was time to go:

alt text

I went first, trying so hard to keep up with the huge men next to me. Not a sprinter but I was able to hold my own and not lose ground for the team. Then Brad, then Cristian, and then Mo - everything was over in a flash. We posed for photos and I was FREEZING. (Probably pretty obvious from the photo.)

alt text

After the relays wrapped we ran back to the room, got showered dressed in a flash and headed to the gala. Dinner was random, but Mo and I (and Sabine) were all wearing pretty much the same dress and we started drinking vodka shots (we are definitely the bad girls of winterswimming. Z came over as we were doing our 2nd shot with Talya, Baby Jacob, and the gang, and we pretty much just froze him out. He told me congratulations and told Mo she looked lovely. SCREW YOU TOO!) Then the awards started…we had to run up to the podium a bunch but each time was thrilling. Here I am in all my questionable podium glory.

Again, different races but not sure which photos go to which. I should have kept the medals on instead of taking off each time, but in the end I swam 7 events and got 5 medals, 2 Bronze, 3 Silver.

alt text

alt text

alt text

alt text

The podium photos from the 200 are my favorite. I know how much finishing that race and earning a medal meant to L. I love her, and what fun to be up with my two favorite girls.

alt text

alt text

And then the relay…yaaay!

alt text

alt text

The whole night was so much fun, but it was just getting started!


Last updated December 30, 2014


kashka December 30, 2014

This is all just so incredible to read. Your life is amazing and fascinating.

Red December 30, 2014

It looks so fun! You also look amazing in that dress/those boots!

BlueEyedDevil December 30, 2014

You looked lovely, too!

Jigger December 30, 2014

You look so serene in the relay pictures! This is all so amazing to me; this whole sport.

nightborn December 30, 2014

You looked dead sexy on that podium :) go you!!

pandora December 30, 2014

I know that the reason for it wasn't great, but the bangs are so perfect on you, I hope you keep them.

Congrats on your medals!! That's awesome.

Manhattan December 30, 2014

Keep the bangs! Well done you.

Calicakes December 30, 2014

Yeah, you are so badass. Congrats!! Its 45 outside right now and I don't even want to step foot outdoors. I could never get in that water.

Deleted user December 30, 2014

Well besides you are an amazing sports person! You are talented and intelligent as well! You look great in your boots and dress - looks like you had a great time. Congrats on your metals!

LeftisRight December 30, 2014

:) I love your hair and your dress/boots!! :) Congrats on all of your accomplishments!

Kate December 30, 2014

As Mark Cuban would say, "You're a beast!"
I'm smitten with your hair.

sarahbaby. December 30, 2014

Everything about this is incredible. I just think you're amazing. Congrats on all those medals! You're an international superstar athlete?!

dickson. January 01, 2015

Amazing!

AlmostGenuine January 02, 2015

Just need to say again - you are amazing. Happy 2015 - I hope it brings you more joy than 2014.

kmh. January 02, 2015

It looks so so cod. You are amazing, what a fantastic experience! So proud of you. Here's to a wonderful and healthy 2015 xoxo

kmh. January 02, 2015

Cold, dammit, not cod.

QueSeraSera January 04, 2015

fantastic!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Miso Honey January 06, 2015

I always love these entries from you. You are freaking awesome.

You said a while back that you thought we had similar faces. In this entry, I can see it. You are a much prettier version of me. Keep up the good work!

Deleted user January 06, 2015

Wow ! Congratulations !!!

aglow January 14, 2015

You. Are. Incredible.
Seriously, never underestimate your awesome. There's SO VERY MUCH of it.

LotusButterfly January 31, 2015

Oh my Gosh, you are absolutely AMAZING. Amazing is to little. Inspiring. Strong. Fascinating. Awesome. I am so happy u did this, and honestly I am in awe of you!

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.