Now ad free (but subject to change) in Site Updates

  • Dec. 29, 2014, 5:40 p.m.
  • |
  • Public

Well friends,

It’s been an interesting internet ride on the prose box thus far (I’d stick in a picture here, but just imagine one of those ugly cube-shaped cars). As the year comes to an end, I find myself introspective - but then, who doesn’t?

People have asked me repeatedly why I haven’t implemented a subscription system yet, and I really haven’t had a good answer. But if I look deeply into my own soul, the honest truth is that it’s more ownership than I really want. It’s truly a business at that point, and I have a real responsibility to those who send the cash my way. There’s a certain level of commitment there that I find myself shying away from.

I never really anticipated Prosebox turning into what it has. For me it was a side hobby and an excuse to learn some new technology I hadn’t written anything in before. It’s been one crazily successful experiment.

It’s an experiment I would like to see thrive and continue to grow.

But I must admit - my heart is really not into the continued oversight and administration of things. Imagine someone who likes designing buildings. The creation part is fun, but the architect himself isn’t really interested in keeping the restrooms clean, so to speak.

There are other buildings to be built.

I say this not to scare and alarm, but rather to be up front about how I see my role in the future, and start looking at ways to transition control of the community. I do not intend to simply let the community crumble and then pull the plug. It’s an awesome community and I want to see it continue to do well, whether I am involved or not.

I realize that making a profit isn’t of much importance to me, so I’m pulling the plug on ads right now. My artistic vision for the site remains a bit more intact without them. Obviously there are expenses with running the site, but I might transition to more of a nonprofit model (like a donate button) while I figure out the next step in the PB journey.

I’ll be refocusing my efforts a bit, mostly to enable shared administration and moderation of the site. So if you would be interested in helping out in such a capacity, let me know. If you spend a good amount of time on the site and most importantly play nicely with others and have good judgement, you could be a great candidate for such a role if it’s something you would enjoy.

UPDATE

A couple of things :

  • This is not a farewell message and no plugs are being pulled. That’s exactly why I’ve written this entry, I don’t want to see it ever come to that. I’ll still be involved moving forward even though life is busy.

  • I intend to add user-friendly moderation features to the site. So if moderating interests you, let me know. No coding required. :-)

  • If you do have professional experience on either the technical or business side of things and would like to discuss a partnership, email me at admin@prosebox.net. Thanks!


Last updated December 29, 2014


This entry only accepts private comments.

No comments.

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.