Phone Book, and a Dropped Item in Roundtrip Ticket to Paradise 2

  • Dec. 29, 2014, 2:45 p.m.
  • |
  • Public

Last shift I worked, I boarded a young man, ~25 or so, who had left his housekey at a popular local teenybopper bar. So, since the bar had closed about half an hour prior, I hustled him back there, while he tried to call the bar on his cellphone. Problem was, he did not have the number of the bar, so I handed him my phone book from my work bag.

Right.

He, unfortunately, did not know how to use a phone book to look up a number. So he’s leafing through the Yellow Pages section, looking under “K” for the bar, which name begins with “K”. So, as gently as possible, I pointed out that he needed to look in the White Pages, Fairbanks section, then the “K” tab, and hey presto, there it was. By that time, however, we had reached the bar, and fortunately there was an employee seeing a couple of coworkers off, and my passenger jumped out and inquired about his keys. Turns out they weren’t at the bar after all; a lady friend of his had taken them home with her.

~

On an unrelated note, saw an interesting commercial/PSA [public service announcement] recently. The theme was “We get by with a little help from our friends” (although the Beatles’ song wasn’t featured). A man was walking down the street with an armload, and dropped something without noticing. A blind man nearby did notice, however, picked up the item, and hailed the other man, saying, “Sir, you dropped this. I heard it fall.”

Neat.


Loki December 29, 2014

  • LOL! Had he not heard of Google Search? When I'm looking for numbers for certain bars, restaurants, etc.., I just Google it! xD
Everything Good Rebecca December 30, 2014

One thing I did as a homeschool mom/teacher was include using the phone book in reading/language arts studies. Being able to use this basic reference book is more helpful than many people realize, especially with so-called smart phones so common. I am constantly amazed at how overlooked recipe books and printed phone directories are now. Sad, and a loss to us as a culture.

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.