Lumosity in keeping it postive

  • Dec. 29, 2014, 3:29 a.m.
  • |
  • Public

When I was in kindergarten, the school gave us IQ tests. I tested in the genius range - enough of us did in the four classes, to make a special class for gifted kids. When I was an adult, in the late 1970s, I used my grade school test score for entrance into Mensa.

Lately, I have found my mental acuity slipping. The year I retired from teaching, I realized I could no longer remember the names of students I’d had in prior years. I have been having word retrieval issues for a while. At first I thought it was menopause - the brain uses estrogen to operate and when that level dips, there is a problem. Also for many years, I would forget information - to the point that I MUST write things down - and I used to be able to remember phone numbers, etc. without any props.

Last year I took a series of tests of mental ability for a medical study on memory loss. The person who conducted the test was impressed - everything was normal, one test above normal and one “superior”. I was jazzed with the results till I thought about them again a few weeks later. NORMAL? My brain used to be far above normal!

I saw an ad for Lumosity - brain exercises - and took their pre-test (to establish a base line). One of the tests was above normal; the other two were dismal (for me).
I bought the two year package - about $100. I’ll see if it makes a difference. I love using the computer, so that part won’t be a hardship.


Silent Echo/Quiet Storm December 29, 2014

i thought about that but, i just can't afford it. so, i do word puzzles, i read like crazy. maybe i should start playing chess with anyone to keep my mind sharp? i exercise cause i've heard that helps keep your mind sharp. there have to be things i can do that don't require me to spend money to keep my mind working at top form. yep, just looked it up and there are 3 things i can do without spending much.... reading, all sorts of puzzles and exercise. i'm on it. take care,

Darcy0207 from OD Silent Echo/Quiet Storm ⋅ December 29, 2014

I do the reading, and the 2nd language activities (that also helps), and the crossword puzzles. But it keeps slipping - I am so aware of the slipping!!! I need to exercise... I'd say "more", but aside from walking to do my errands I do NONE, so anything would be "more".

I also am going to try to eat "clean" (with less added sugar and/or preservatives) - the operative word is "try".

Sugar affects the brain - especially memory - so I have got to limit it. I go through spells of eating more sugar... and there seems to be a difference.

Silent Echo/Quiet Storm Darcy0207 from OD ⋅ December 29, 2014

sugar is in everything it seems so, i don't eat candy of any kind. no sense in adding that sugar. 'trying' to avoid sugar is about all i can do, too. i do my best not to add sugar. just like i don't add salt. didn't realize sugar affected memory. i will 'try' to avoid it even more now. i avoid it now to help with weight but, now memory? i'll avoid it even more.... as much as i can. i've found i need to make lists more often. need to start paying more attention to my memory to see what affects it... either harms it or helps it. will be heading to the gym in about 90 minutes or so. take care,

Darcy0207 from OD Silent Echo/Quiet Storm ⋅ December 29, 2014

Try is the operative word. I've been drinking some flavored sparkling water - just noticed on has added sweetener - will avoid that one in the future. You're right, it appears everywhere - even in canned tomatoes. I don't add either sugar or salt to any food - not to say those ingredients aren't already in there...

woman in the moon December 29, 2014

I'm beginning to feel old. I don't like it.

Darcy0207 from OD woman in the moon ⋅ December 30, 2014

"Getting old is not for sissies" - my father would quote that line regularly. I think it's so unfair that the older we get, the more paperwork and administrative duties we end up with - when we are the least prepared and capable.

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.