Sweet Potato/Lentil Burgers with Onion Jam in Recipes/Meal Planning/Food Pictures

  • Aug. 8, 2013, 7:54 a.m.
  • |
  • Public

(For some reason I can't edit the size of my image in code, so sorry for the huge picture.)

These turned out okay. They're an adaptation from this recipe.

I used 2 cups of dry green lentils and omitted the black-eyed peas altogether. I also just used AP flour instead of brown rice flour because that's what I had on hand. The burgers held together nicely and would make a nice lentil loaf, I think, but they were kind of bland. (The recipe doesn't call for any salt, I added some, but it needed other flavor. I added smoked paprika and cumin and sriracha, but still.) I don't know. I like lentils, but I don't necessarily like lentils formed into patties and served on bread. They were totally fine, but next time, I'll just make curried lentils in the crockpot and serve them over rice or avocado or something. (These were a bit of work without a food processor. I used a potato masher.) I have lots left over for freezing, and they have barely ANY fat in them. They're about 250 calories/each and 12 grams of protein. I still feel quite full, and yayyy fiber!

The onion jam was nice. I just sort of made it on the fly, eyeballing a few different recipes for the basics. I sliced up 5 small onions into thin slices and caramelized them in a non-stick pan with olive oil for about 25-30 minutes. Then I added a few teaspoons of brown sugar, a few tablespoons of apple cider vinegar, and added a half a cup of water and boiled it down until the "jam" met the right consistency. My boyfriend accurately described it as more of a chutney, but it would go awesome with grilled burgers, hot dogs, or chicken. It's a nice "condiment." Flavorful.


ashleyyann_xo August 08, 2013

looks yummy!

Kelly ashleyyann_xo ⋅ August 08, 2013

Thank you!

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.