...and my most idotic moment of this year goes to... in The Monster

  • Dec. 27, 2014, 5:55 a.m.
  • |
  • Public

Today, and yesterday. Alright so I went to sleep last night, getting frustrated and I boot back into Ubuntu to download Nano-Linux, and then move it to the USB drive itself…then I just dicked around for a bit. mainly going over my plan and making sure everything was ready…I then shutdown Ubuntu went over to my laptop and got the thing ready. So I boot up into NanoLinux and I have to manually set the video mode, something I’ve never done before but decided to try…and it doesn’t work properly…try again and I get it working…but the mouse leaves a trail.

So I unplug the USB and move it into my desktop to make the Windows Install USB…then NanoLinux messes up…so I try to get NanoLinux working again…but I fail…miserably.

So I decide, “fuck it, I’ll just use this computer a little” and setup the drive…then that doesn’t work…so I look online…only to find out it was changing the SATA mode from IDE to AHCI in the BIOS without changing it in Windows 7…

So I ended up spending roughly 2 days on something that could have taken me considerably less time, resources, and thought. Now it’s fixed and I’m just thinking of how much of an idiot I was… Although I did learn a bit of Linux…so that’s good…right?

TL;DR An issue I had was a simple issue that I could have fixed in about 30 minutes(at most), and I spent 2 days fixing it…


No comments.

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.