Christmas Eve day in The countdown begins

  • Dec. 24, 2014, 4:48 a.m.
  • |
  • Public

Today we are only working for 4.5 hours and then the company shuts down (with pay) until Monday. I am SO ready to be out of there for a few days. Things are very stressful, to say the least.

I used to enjoy my job but they started outsourcing a lot of things to India and replaced knowledgeable insurance managers with former call center managers who know nothing about our jobs. Their only focus is on production.

I turned 64 earlier this month and my goal is to retire shortly after the end of next year. I have a 401k that the company contributes a fair amount to and I will be fully vested after 5 years of employment - which happens to be October 18th of 2015. My plan is to retire sometime in January of 2016 because the company always contributes 5% of an employee’s salary within the first 2 weeks of January. Once that is there I will be giving my 2 week notice, the house will be put up for sale and, once it’s sold, we will be moving back to the Pacific Northwest. I CANNOT WAIT!!!

It has taken a very long time for housing prices here in Central Florida to bounce back but it’s finally happening. There are a couple of houses in our subdivision that have sold recently for a nice price. If we can get close to those prices by then we will have a nice nest egg to take with us and will go along well with the investments my husband has made.

But for now, it’s a balmy 73 degrees here in my neck of the woods at 5:47 AM. Not Christmas weather that I enjoy but it is what it is until we can change it!


Last updated December 25, 2014


No comments.

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.