As i sit here sipping my 5 dollar gas station drink and eating my donut in General Chatterboxing

  • Dec. 24, 2014, 1:09 a.m.
  • |
  • Public

As i do almost every day i leave. I swing into the gas station. Chat with the ladies who now know me and Audra on sight. I get my fountain soda, and pick out a donut made by the local bakery. They are amazing, and their donuts are 14 for $12, at the gas station its a dollar. But they are huge. Like the size of the little plate that comes in a plate set. Its $4.50 every time i stop in. If im on my own. If im with the kids, i get them slushies or hot chocolate, B likes coffee. Mostly creamer. Tony usually gets rock stars. So when its just me, its only a couple bucks. Them its 10 lol.
Yes i go nearly every day. How lucky i am to be in a place where i can do that every day!
I turn around back down my street, swing into the local bulk food stores. I need to get SOMETHING for dinner. Im not doing major food shopping till next paycheck ( monday) So little bits to make us last. At the door is an elder man selling fresh mistletoe. $5 for a sprig. He asks me if i want to buy some. I didnt have any cash so i said im sorry no. I dont carry cash. He smiles hands me a sprig and says merry Christmas.
I feel like an ass. A massive ass. I probably dont have much reason to. Except i just spent that on a soda and donut.
I wander to the meat. See they have prime rib for $8 a lb. Cheaper then where tony was going to get one for our Christmas dinner. Get that. Its $50. Get chicken and some pork chops, pasta sauce for our ravioli for tonights dinner. I still feel like an ass. Realize im out of pepsi at home, grab a case. And i really feel more and more like an ass.
Check out. $120. Not too bad. Its enough to get us to payday. ( barely but it will do. ) get $20 cash back. As i walk by i put it in his donation tin. I say Merry christmas and he smiles. Hands me another sprig and says Merry christmas.
I dont feel like so much of an ass now. Im in a position to put change in every donation pot. So i am… Because that is who i want to be. To give when i can. When i cant. Because some people have less. so i can give.
And now i can sit here sipping my fountain soda and not feel like an ass.


Aj_18 February 12, 2015

Long time no update :/. Hope things are ok.

Lina Aj_18 ⋅ February 12, 2015

Was just thinking about writing!

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.