Tiring day in Another Open Diary refugee

  • Dec. 23, 2014, 7 p.m.
  • |
  • Public

Tiring day today… I ran the dishwasher and cleaned up the kitchen this morning, then I decided to go to work with John because I didn’t really have anything else scheduled to do today and I wanted to spend some quality time with him… it turned out to be a lot more quality time than either of us bargained for - we drove to the first site, picked up a laptop and started down I-95, when the car beeped that it needed more gas - then the engine sputtered to a halt in the middle of the road. Fortunately, since we were going at 75 miles an hour and the road was relatively clear, he had plenty of time to steer over to the side of the road before the car died entirely… also fortunately, when he changed his insurance earlier this year it came with free roadside assistance, so we just had to call them and wait, and wait, and wait… a State Trooper pulled up behind us and came to ask if we were okay, so we told him we were waiting for the Assistance guy to get there and he went on his way. After an hour of sitting, the guy found us and sure enough, the car was out of gas even though the fuel gauge said there was 20 miles worth left, which should have been plenty to get us to the next gas station. It was unseasonably warm today and I was getting pretty hot by the time we were done waiting, so I bought myself an icecream when John got gas, and then he made me come into the building at his office so I could cool down. It could have been way worse - the car could have died halfway to Orlando tomorrow, or it could have been something serious wrong, not just a thirsty engine. John says he’s NEVER going to let the tank get that low again! He’s got away with it before, but once is enough… lol

I sat around at the warehouse and then we went up to Port St Lucie for the final stop, but we tried to take a shortcut and it turned out to be going in the wrong direction entirely, so we went the very long way round to get there… then John took me to Office Max to get nice pens to give my BILs with their notebooks (I wanted something under five bucks and the cheapest ‘nice’ pens were $5.70 each, so I bought them, and the next model up for John and me because pens with a nice smooth wide barrel are hard to come by), then we stopped at the grocery store so I could get gift bags, some treats for my SIL’s puppy, and a few last minute bits and pieces. Came home and ordered a pizza with John’s Christmas ‘bonus’ (the company must have been feeling rich - they told everyone they could expense out a $15 lunch before December 24… not much, but it’s better than the zero bonus they’ve doled out the last few years!) So we got a free pizza. Yum. And now I’m gathering my tired thoughts and getting ready for an early night, because tomorrow’s going to be busy.


^..^Kat December 29, 2014

What an odd Christmas bonus. But, as you said, better than nothing. I'm glad you got a pizza that you enjoyed.

Everything Good Rebecca December 30, 2014

Once is enough on some life lessons, that's for sure! I'm glad it wasn't worse and that you did have road-side assistance available!

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.