Henna 101 in Winter 2014/2015

  • Dec. 23, 2014, 5:26 p.m.
  • |
  • Public

Henna, the instructions…

 photo IMAG2245.jpg

Easy peasy :-)

 photo IMAG2246.jpg

Mmmmmmmm chocolate fondue! Oh no, it’s my hot henna, still on the pan of boiling water to stop it from cooling down too quickly. The hotter the henna, the redder the hair ;-)

 photo IMAG2241.jpg

Smeared, saturated hair. It don’t get better than this! I use a big ol’ Pyrex mixing bowl so I can dip my hair in.

 photo IMAG2243.jpg

The more often henna is applied, the brighter the colour. I went for a three day application. Each time it took half an hour to heat and melt the henna and apply it. It stayed on for three hours before i spent another half hour rinsing it off and cleaning hair (and the bath!)

Application one - the cling film keeps the heat in, allowing more of the red to develop.

 photo IMAG2203_1.jpg

Result one.

 photo IMAG2206_1.jpg

Application two.

 photo IMAG2234_1.jpg

Result two.

 photo IMAG2235.jpg

Application three…

 photo IMAG2244_1.jpg

The final result. From mousey to bright, shiny and head turning :-)

 photo IMAG2248.jpg

If I may say so myself, it kicks some serious arse :-)


Last updated December 23, 2014


ElvenAssassin December 23, 2014

Mmm, I might have to try that ^_^ Gorgeous!

cheesyemoheart December 23, 2014

Such a beautiful color!!!

thesunnyabyss December 23, 2014

well I've never seen it done in steps like that but it really does make a deeper, richer colour, I usually put it on and leave it in all day, 8-9 hours all at once,

looks great!

ermentrude thesunnyabyss ⋅ December 24, 2014

Apparently, after three hours, the colour doesn't develop any more so to get a deeper colour it should be done two our three times in a row. With the Lush henna I use half a block per session - and I have ridiculously long, thick hair. X

thesunnyabyss ermentrude ⋅ December 24, 2014

I wish they had told me that when I bought the henna there, I will try that next time, I used half a block and it was just barely enough I found, I also got the maroon colour but wish I had gotten the other red one now, and I found my hair was almost greasy after, it took forever to rinse out, but I guess all henna does, lol,

Merry Christmas to you and your loved ones!!

Deleted user December 23, 2014

Beautiful!

Deleted user December 23, 2014

It does ! You look wonderful ! Wonder what it would do to my blonde hair ?? Merry Christmas, Kate, to you and all your family ... Happy New Year !

ermentrude Deleted user ⋅ December 24, 2014

It would turn a very pretty, vivid Orange colour! X

Deleted user ermentrude ⋅ December 24, 2014

I don't think that would be attractive :-( Guess I better stay as I am. Hair color is beyond me . I can not even use a hair curler adequately :-(

The Tranquil Loon December 29, 2014

looks great! I am glad you posted these pics so we could see the transformation

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.