Two Down, One to Go in Muddling Through As Best I Can

  • Dec. 21, 2014, 7:12 p.m.
  • |
  • Public

Well, Brad is officially married!
As I alluded to briefly yesterday, there was a little pre-wedding drama but nothing that couldn’t be handled even if I was a little less than tactful with it.
The mother of the bride had an issue with Shea (my new daughter in law) having her former stepfather giving her away. Her mother is recently married to husband number seven and wanted him to have that honor. Shea has never met the man, and wanted the man who helped raise her to do it.
Her mother has been on a rant that this was going to ruin her marriage as the new husband wanted that honor. It had gone to the point that Shea was in tears and Bradley was beside himself.
I took the opportunity to remind Mommy Dearest that it was THEIR wedding and it should be the way the wanted it, without interference or guilt.
She continued to argue, so I put it more bluntly; Either shut up and support our children on their wedding day, or roll up her pantyhose and go back to South Dakota. It was not only her daughter getting married, it was my son. Nothing and no one was going to make the day less than spectacular for them. She behaved after that. I did refrain from saying that someone married seven times shouldn’t offer advice on weddings and relationships.
The rest of the day went off without a hitch and it was beautiful. I have to confess that I may have gotten a little teary eyed a time or two, but I’m claiming allergies on that one. Hardened prison guards don’t cry, it isn’t manly.
I really wish I knew how to post photos, we got some really good ones. The bride was stunning, the groom was handsome, and the the flower girl was beautiful beyond reason. She is also now officially my new granddaughter, lol.
Anyway, I’m very happy for them. Next step: getting ready for the grandchild (grandchildren?) due in April. I know their timing could be better, but a new life is never a bad thing to me. We’ll cope and Grandpa will spoil this one as rotten as the others.
The bumps in the road of life have been fairly smooth recently, and I’m enjoying the break and praying it continues for a while.
Well, our evening meal is almost done and Brian is due home from work any minute so I need to set the table and get things ready. You folks out there have a great week.


Last updated December 21, 2014


You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.