Done in Never Say Never

  • Dec. 20, 2014, 4:34 a.m.
  • |
  • Public

There’s a scene in Girls where Shoshanna and Ray have broken up and she’s explaining to him that she doesn’t want to be with someone who doesn’t want to be with her. “That’s called self-respect,” she says.

I didn’t need to hear AGAIN what he wishes he was doing for Christmas and how that in no way includes me. And have him throw in my face that I am the one going away for Christmas and my birthday after he told me to go – and after he acted like a grade A ass about my birthday.

After a few long, hard months of him treating me like I hardly exist, I packed my bags and drove home. After more than one conversation where he was positively cruel, I called it quits.

I don’t know if that’s called self-respect. But it’s something close to relief.


Satine December 20, 2014

Makes sense...enjoy Christmas and here's to a fresh start in 2015.

BlueEyedDevil December 20, 2014

I just started reading so I don't know the whole story, but it sounds like a bit of a high five is in order. Here's to self respect! :)

Ginger Snap December 21, 2014

I'm glad you did. I'm proud of you.

Ginger Snap December 21, 2014

Oh...and SO excited to see you!

Parliament December 22, 2014

Better late than never, honey.

.bob December 25, 2014

Sigh. I'm sorry. It's hard to be true, but it's right.

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.