Suggestion Box, Almost 2015 Edition in Suggestion Box

  • Dec. 18, 2014, 8:27 p.m.
  • |
  • Public

Happy holidays!

I don’t have as much time these days to work on site enhancements, but I would like to do a few things before I forget how the site works (there’s like some code and black magic and stuff). It’s been a while since I’ve really assessed what features people would like the most, so here’s a new suggestion box.

Search enhancements is still on my radar. I would also like to enhance the Drafts functionality, combining the Autosave feature - so stuff is constantly being saved in the background - and worst case scenario, if the site goes down while you’re composing an entry, you’ll get some kind of warning that the site can’t be reached so you can copy and paste somewhere else for safe keeping.

There’s a lot of other stuff, but I’m sure people will fill in the blanks for me. :)


Gangleri December 18, 2014

By way of search enhancements, a way to search my own entries would be rocking'.

synapse Gangleri ⋅ December 18, 2014

Agreed. Best way to search is to download and search with my own software. Also, what's so wrong with random button?

Mr. Mofo December 18, 2014

When you're working with code, do you have to sacrifice a virgin? Where the HELL can you go to find virgins now a days?

Please don't turn this into another Facebook. That is all I ask.

Happy Holidays.

elaine2 Mr. Mofo ⋅ December 25, 2014

Triple on the Facebook NOT request. The setup here feels more like family. It took some getting used to, but now I much prefer it to the OpenDiary way of doing things.

NeonLady December 18, 2014

Thanks for all your hard work!

Starhawk December 18, 2014

I weep for personalization options. Mostly because with only the icon and name at the top to tell folk apart, I sometimes get confused about who the hell I am reading. Since everyone's books look the exact same. I mean I'm not asking for calligraphy fonts and animated .gif backgrounds. But maybe something.

PepperGrape December 18, 2014

Please can we somehow upload our OD entries? Please, oh please?

Deleted user December 18, 2014

Last year at this time, we were new here...and now it feels like home! Thank you so much for this place and all your work!
My requests: search and import.

Deleted user December 18, 2014

I'm still hoping for that drafts tab, along with the entries, description and comments tab each book has. That way all the drafts from multiple books aren't thrown together on one big page. :) Meanwhile, I'm not worried about losing anything because I write in Word and then upload from there.

I need tea. December 18, 2014

Love it!

Johnny Carcinogen December 19, 2014

Nothing that hasn't already been requested, stated, and otherwise mentioned a thousand times already.

TellTaleHeart December 19, 2014

I think everyone else has it covered. Thank you for all your work!

Leanne 🌈 December 19, 2014

Happy Holidays! Thanks for PB ..... agree with Blood Dragon.....carry on.

Lady of the Bann Leanne 🌈 ⋅ December 20, 2014

patrisha December 19, 2014

That sounds very useful.

Ummm...I am still patiently {well, mostly patiently} waiting to send you money for no ads? How is that coming along?

hot-lips December 19, 2014

Everything everyone else said. But also, I'd like a search box for key words. I was trying to find a diary that participated in DeMoPho for example, but no one uses that particular phrase as a diary name, hence nothing came up. Re the personalisations, maybe you can add something like the Facebook cover photo if nothing else? At least we can personalise a small part of our diary. Thanks :)

Avalon December 19, 2014

The ability to search your own diary! That's the one function that I find myself wishing for on a regular basis.

Deleted user Avalon ⋅ February 03, 2015

Me too!

Deleted user December 19, 2014

I like having the editor so you can have a background to each entry, change the fonts, SPELL CHECK, which I need and be able to change fonts...being creative with each writing is so important. I would like to see a LIKE button, that would be nice and to be able to tag someone in your entry.

EvequeFou Deleted user ⋅ December 20, 2014

Pretty much every modern browser has spell-check built in, and sites that provide their own often tussle with the browser's code. What browser are you using?

Deleted user EvequeFou ⋅ December 23, 2014

Explorer

EvequeFou Deleted user ⋅ December 23, 2014

What version? Spell check was added in IE10. You may just need to upgrade to a more current version.

Deleted user EvequeFou ⋅ December 23, 2014

really???? Hmmmm I need to figure that one out :) Thank you

Deleted user December 19, 2014

You see the 'wish list' is getting shorter each time you ask for suggestions! That's a great sign! :)

Deleted user December 19, 2014

And maybe, you can also give us the option to add tags to our entries so that other diarists can find them when searching for it.

Reading_Blankie 📚 Deleted user ⋅ January 12, 2015

oh that would be neato. :)

Deleted user December 19, 2014

I suppose on top of that drafts tab I would like, I could get REALLY greedy and ask for a book search feature and a way to customize backgrounds. :)

WildflowerHeart December 19, 2014

ability to copy and paste photos from facebook instead of having to use a photo host site would be great... i had a private album I used just for diary pics. Pretty please....

MissMeg December 20, 2014

Import our old OD and Entry Calendar pretty please!!

Deleted user MissMeg ⋅ February 03, 2015

Entry Calendar! Yes!

Deleted user December 20, 2014

Interest lists would be fun to see here, like they were on OD.

Deleted user Deleted user ⋅ February 03, 2015

That would be cool... Though they did get kinda crazy. Maybe have a limit of Interests? 20 max kinda thing?

HappyMusician December 20, 2014

I would like a way to navigate from one entry to another while you're reading the entry. I mean, if you're reading an entry, it'd be nice if at the top of that entry itself, there's a "previous" and a "next" entry so you can navigate that way, in your own or another person's blog.

Songbird3 December 21, 2014

What am I missing here? Why is it so difficult to find my own entries? I would love it if I could click a button that took me to a list of all my entries.

simple mind Songbird3 ⋅ December 21, 2014

Click on My Profile, your entries are listed on your profile page.

Songbird3 simple mind ⋅ December 21, 2014

I realized that right after I typed the note. I didn't realize there were 2 tabs. Might was set on "description" instead of "entries." I feel like an idiot. Thanks. I still miss OD.

Rerrin December 21, 2014

I'd love for bookmarks to be listed from oldest unread first, or for them all to be listed on one page. I like to pick and choose which I'll read first, and I hate having to click through pages every time I want to read my oldest unread.

Deleted user December 23, 2014

Interests and search by interest and tags.

Other than that, I am chill.

Jeanine December 23, 2014

I can barely even recall a time before PB. Thank you for making this place feel like home!

Deleted user December 23, 2014

I WANT TO REPORT THIS PERSON: Blood Dragon he is leaving really awful things on my box. How do I block him?

EvequeFou Deleted user ⋅ December 23, 2014

Click on his name, scroll all the way to the bottom and click "BLOCK USER". Careful -- last I knew, it was irreversible.

Deleted user EvequeFou ⋅ December 23, 2014

He blocked me so that is fine

sparklespeterson December 23, 2014

Some of these ads I have to see are really gross.
It makes me not want to visit this site.

Jane Says sparklespeterson ⋅ December 28, 2014

Ugh, me too. I hate them.

wotanslieb December 24, 2014

So... all of my entries are gone. Why is that?

Loki December 25, 2014

  • hmm! I like the idea of having an auto-save! Sometimes I forget I'm typing an entry, and accidentally click out, then it's lost [ Weeps ] . .but that's more to do with my own carelessness than PB =P

    Here's what I would suggest:

    > the option to edit comments for a few moments after posting it, so if there's a typo, I can quickly edit it instead of deleting & reposting said comment.

    > Reader's Choice, perhaps? This would be a great feature-- and to be able to come across new diaries to read =^u^=

    > Along the lines of a Reader's Choice, a "random" button would be great. I've seen several people mention that already!

    > What 'Sugar Free' suggested-- an interests option would be great & you can find other users in common [ Thumbs up ]

    > What 'Movie Life' suggested about changing fonts! Oh Norns! That would be perfect! I get bored of always using the same font, yo.

    > Okay, pretty much what the other comments suggest!

    Just want to say now: Happy Christmas & New Year! Here's to 2015. Another year! ♥ I'm fucking glad I joined PB. This place is great & the care you put into making this site fantastic for everyone is truly appreciated. [ Raises my glass of Guinness ] To SM !
Loki December 25, 2014

  • ahh! I had another suggestion at the back of my mind that I forgot to mention in my essay of a comment [ Chuckles ] but being able to message others would be a really nice feature =^u^= To save unwanted messages, you could have it so only mutual friends|follows can only message each other ?
synapse January 02, 2015

It would be good for security if I could manage login sessions or at least log out other sessions automatically when email and/or password is changed. Also, I don't think a like or vote up/down, kudos or thanks feature would be so bad. Sometimes I want to acknowledge that I enjoyed an entry or comment without having to add noise to comments with a boring "thanks" or "me too!" comment. Why did people hate like button so much? But most important thing is RANDOM button. I sent you an email offering my help if I can do so in any way possible. Just don't let PB die like OD, ok? I don't want to move to tumblr, LJ or wordpress, I like how small it is and the community here. Hope you are having a good year. Also the RANDOM button is the most important feature that I really want. Why are you not interested in that feature? grr.

Deleted user synapse ⋅ February 03, 2015

I think that many people dislike the Like button because it would discourage genuine interaction, which is what a diary/journalling site is all about. We share our private thoughts or our private lives or our intimate poetry or our angry rants for a reason - to receive that support from our readers. Not to have a million Likes on it. That's what Facebook is for, isn't it? Many people who liked an entry but have nothing to say just simply sign off with their diary name, and that's fine - I think most people understand what that means.

Loki January 02, 2015

  • ah! I have another suggestion! An option to put in your location in "edit my profile" and be able to search people based on their location. Like, I'm curious to see who else is located in England! \m/
Deleted user January 04, 2015

Is there a way to disable getting blank notes (other than telling readers you don't want them)? I remember how much I couldn't stand them on OD.

woman in the moon January 04, 2015

KIS(sweetie)

Deleted user January 06, 2015

Interest tagging or grouping of some sort. If we have that then we can live without readers choice or vote ups or random entry and such like. Cause I think all anyone really wants is an easy way to find like minded people.

Donate button. I don't care for subscriptions but if the site was in dire straits and needed funds to keep going I might be inclined to help out.

Thank you for all you do here :)

Sagittarienne January 08, 2015

Is there a way for Autosave to work on Google Chrome browsers? I just lost a huge entry that I admittedly should have saved a draft of. :(

simple mind Sagittarienne ⋅ January 09, 2015

The current autosave works poorly in all browsers under certain circumstances. That's why I'd like to update it to integrate with drafts being automatically being created in the background (as mentioned in the entry). Just not there yet.

Reading_Blankie 📚 January 12, 2015

Hmm... pretty much what every one else said, though I would like a "font size" option in general for this site. Everything appears in BIG letters and I'm not to keen on nosy nellies reading stuff behind my back while I'm at... Starbucks or something. A "next entry" button would be awesome with a capital A. For instance, I've been away for a bit and I have been trying to catch up on people and I keep having to press the back button to get to the next entry. :)

Deleted user Reading_Blankie 📚 ⋅ February 03, 2015

There is a panel on the left-hand-side that has options for this. You click on "Next" under "Current Author". I use this feature all the time, as I like to catch up on a whole heap of entries for the one person.

Reading_Blankie 📚 Deleted user ⋅ February 03, 2015

thanks! nifty!

TrulyMae January 13, 2015

Hi, I'm another transplant from OD, but just finally got started. One of the main things I have missed about journaling online is the community aspect. I have a specific process I'm working through in my journal here, and I'd love to commiserate or otherwise commune with others going through something similar, but I see there's no way to find other users aside from searching usernames or browsing aimlessly.

I'm so glad prosebox is available to me, and I appreciate what it is already, but I do wish there were circles/keyword search/tagging too. I also would like to see an entry calendar feature.

Thanks!

Deleted user January 16, 2015

Look, I've asked you this before... please, please get rid of the videos. They are like OMG annoying when I'm trying to read posts. I can totally see ads, links and whatnot, but the vids are a real killer to deal with when I'm trying to concentrate on reading something and they start playing. So please take a gun to them! :)

Mermy Cullen January 18, 2015

is there ever going to be a phone app?

MightyZeus January 20, 2015

is there a possibility of subscribing / unsubscribing to specific books? some of my bookmarked favorites have books that I, frankly, don't care about.

thanks for all the hard work!

WizeArtWorx January 28, 2015

I dont know if there's another post i can reference to figure this out or not, but why can i not see my entries on the front page right after i post them? it looks like my security settings should be allowing it, but for whatever reason its not working?

Deleted user February 03, 2015

Yes some personalisation would be nice on perhaps background colours, or maybe a border, or a 'cover photo' - a banner. No personalisation on font though ~ I agree with you that that should be a total No-no. It can get crazy otherwise.

Also, the ability to have a 'front page'? Eg, I go to my prosebox and get to login from my own personalised 'front page'.... Maybe with the picture of the dude writing that you have on the login page as a banner, instead of taking up the whole screen. I guess this idea is part of the whole personalisation topic too.

Deleted user February 03, 2015

The reason for the ^ personalised front page is because it would help to keep the mental flow you're in , when you log on and are ready to spill your thoughts. I find that the cool, crisp picture of someone else's hands doing the writing de-personalises the moment for me. Maybe it's just me :) IhateitwhenpeoplesharestupidstuffandIjustdidthat

Naiad February 18, 2015

Sometimes I miss being able to search my entire diary. 'Twas a feature on OD that I apparently used fairly often.

Deleted user March 07, 2015

1.) Could we get "advance forward or backwards" links added to posts? its annoying to have to click back, find the book your reading and then look again for the following post.

2) Can you fixt it so that we can enter dates for posts and they will automatically go in order of the date entered? if I post something I wrote 6 months ago I don't want it to show up as my most recent post. it makes it difficult for stories to flow correctly.

thank you for all you do :)

simple mind Deleted user ⋅ March 08, 2015

PB already has both of those things. The nav bar is in the left column on a desktop screen (you might need to scroll down a bit). The Backdate field on the entry editor lets you put in a different publish date.

Deleted user March 12, 2015

Can you add an underline button under the bold and italics? It's such a small request, but I really like underlining and it's a pain to type in the html code all the time.

dancerd March 29, 2015

Hi would there be any way you could add hobbies/likes so we could search ppl with similar interests?

Jane Says May 07, 2015

So you know what would be great?

(Yes, yes, it's me again, with that thing.)

If on my Friends page, to the right of each name, was simply the date of the last update to their PB. It doesn't even have to be a link. Just so I know who has updated when. That's all I'm asking :)

(7703 Bookmarks and never clicking it, nope.)

simple mind Jane Says ⋅ May 07, 2015

For what it's worth, you can use the Bookmarks "latest" tab to quickly see who has last updated when, since it never shows the same person more than once. Depending on the size of your favorites list, it shouldn't take much paging to find the person at the bottom who last updated in 2013.

Jane Says simple mind ⋅ May 07, 2015

I've tried it, my brain just doesn't work that way - an alphabetical list of everyone on one page allows me to scan it all at once. The separate page thing throws me off and the Bookmarks number quickly gets overwhelming, which is why I stopped using it ages ago :(

Jane Says simple mind ⋅ May 07, 2015

(7713, now.)

simple mind Jane Says ⋅ May 07, 2015

Right, but the Bookmarks Latest (select bookmarks then select latest at the top) will never give you more than the number of people you have bookmarked. So if you have 20 people bookmarked, you'll see 20 entries (close to what you want, just newest to oldest instead of alphabetical).

EvequeFou May 28, 2015

You apparently can't italicize words in the title. *text* just stays as-is, while <i>text</i> gets swallowed.

Johnny Carcinogen September 12, 2015

Android app. Please. The mobile version of the site is a giant pain in my ass.

simple mind Johnny Carcinogen ⋅ September 12, 2015

You suggest an app which would take considerable time and effort while simultaneously telling everyone to use Adblock, which bypasses ads that generate revenue to fund such an effort.

Johnny Carcinogen simple mind ⋅ September 12, 2015

Wow, fuck, sorry I asked, oh Holy One. Maybe you shouldn't have a fucking suggestion box if you're gonna be so uptight about, you know, suggestions. Kee-rist.

simple mind Johnny Carcinogen ⋅ September 12, 2015

laugh Sorry. I just found it funny that your suggestion to build an entire app was accompanied by several mentions of Adblock when I checked my comments this morning. I apologize for my amusement and thank you for your suggestion.

Johnny Carcinogen simple mind ⋅ September 12, 2015

And the horse you rode in on, toolbox.

Flame is Love September 23, 2015

Now that Adblock works on iOS, can I please give you money? I've heard nothing but good things about Cash.me if you aren't ready for paid accounts.

black_and_blue November 12, 2015

The ability to browse users by personal interests, so we can find other like-minded people to bookmark/friend. Also, add an 'Interests' section in users' profiles to enable this capability, obviously.

simple mind black_and_blue ⋅ November 12, 2015

Yeah, I want to have a tags feature so you can tag entries, your profile, etc, and have a way to search it all. It's on the list. :)

Kimber November 19, 2015

Just curious, what's your policy on weird spam-like diaries? This is the first one I've seen, which made me wonder.
https://www.prosebox.net/box/7120/

simple mind Kimber ⋅ November 20, 2015

My policy is to remove them, thanks for the info. Gone!

BaybNJoe December 24, 2015

Hi! I didn't want to wade through 191 comments and replies, so I don't know if anyone has mentioned this. On OD, each entry was indexed at the top: previous entry, next entry. I really liked that. It's hard to navigate around here without it. Also, if we could have the list of entries down the side, like OD had. It's an ease-0f-use thing for me, not nostalgia for the OD site. Merry Christmas and Happy New Year!!!! :)

Deleted user BaybNJoe ⋅ January 05, 2016

Some time ago Simple Mind did trial and error with the 'previous entry, next entry' buttons. He tried quite a few different ideas actually. And based on the feedback given to him at the time, he finally came up with what is in place now. Just letting you know because I'm not sure he would be willing to go through all that again.

Pickled Duck Lips January 01, 2016

As mentioned earlier, enhanced search features would be great. Such as being able to skip pages while searching, or being able to go to the "Beginning" of a diary without having to page through all the existing pages. OD had a calendar that listed each entry. One could navigate through days, weeks and months, even years, looking for entries marked on something that looked like a wall calendar. That was great.

Deleted user Pickled Duck Lips ⋅ January 05, 2016

I have to agree, a calendar of entries written would be so awesome.

Deleted user January 05, 2016

Hi, I know you're probably not looking at Suggestions by now - but I had an idea that popped into my head. First of all, THANK YOU SO MUCH for the capability to choose the privacy of individual entries. That is SO awesome. What I want to suggest is the following:
Say I have a Book that is automatically set to Members Only. But along the way I want to share something that is Friends Only, and now I can totally do that, which is awesome. So I go right ahead and do it. But time passes and I now want that entry to be a different privacy yet again > so it would be cool to be able to see that entry from the list of titles under the said Book. Eg: I could look at the list of titles under said Book; I can see at the top of the Book that it is set to Members Only; and hay presto, I can also see beside the few "odd" entries that are set as Friends Only marked as Friends Only - similar to what we see in our Bookmarks List for Unread's.
Okay, thank you for reading. And Happy New Year!!

Deleted user April 27, 2016

In the same spirit of the "Friend Of" list, it would be neat to see a list of people who have Bookmarked me. I am always curious to know how many readers I have. I know a lot of people read regularly but don't always leave notes on entries. So it would be good to know who all is reading my entries.

Other than that, I really can't think of anything else this site needs. You've done a great job here sir.

nothispenelope May 22, 2016

i would like a search box for our. blogs. instead of going through all the books/entries looking for something. not sure how one would....put a search box in the blogs but.yes. thank you.

Pickled Duck Lips June 21, 2016

Yes, what MissLovely said. OD used to have an entry calendar where uses could search theirs and other peoples entries on a calendar type search thingie. That would be like the best update ever!
(Turning on bat light to call Prose Minister)

Rivercity March 27, 2018

Sorry you're saying goodbye to Prosebook--it was a good run and came at a good time. I wish you all the best in your future endeavors.

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.