Russia Day 4: 450 Meters at Zero Degrees in Magical Realism

  • Dec. 19, 2014, 7:50 a.m.
  • |
  • Public

Finally the day of the endurance swim was here. We ate breakfast (eggs and this very heavy Russian porridge, rough but I needed the insulation.) I didn’t drink any coffee because I was petrified of failing the medical exam and the guys told me it could make your blood pressure go up and fail you.

Registration was an insane hassle. I don’t know why I expected it to be smooth, but it was an ordeal. We were in this extremely hot gymnasium too, and I had to run back and forth to the dorm to get my laptop so I was sweating like crazy. Sweating in Siberia! After what seemed like hours, I got my badge and paperwork. Headed over to the medical, where everyone was still waiting around. Everyone was failing the medical exam! There were two examination rooms, they said one doctor was failing everyone and the other everyone passing. At this point I was completely freaked out and I think a big part of me actually wanted to be barred, so of course I went in with a sense of calm and passed.

After that I went to Natalia (I met her in Argentina, she was our guide/translator for the trip but is a PhD student studying the effects of cold water on people with different body compositions) stripped down, and got my body fat/measurements taken. From there we had to run to the briefing, which was pretty quick. Then we had lunch, which was not the best but I knew I had to eat for the swim.

After that we ran back to the dorm to grab stuff and meet Natalia who gave me an electronic pill to swallow to measure my core temperature. We went out to the swim arena and K was there by herself wandering around without proper clothing, so I had her hang out in the changing area where it was warmer. I heard Luisa found Z and gave him a huge lecture about her not having gloves or the proper gear. I was a complete wreck, so worried about the swim.

I was already so cold and couldn’t fathom getting into the water. With everything going on I had been doing a bare minimum of swim training and was not prepared to race a 450 meters, let alone at zero degrees. Natalia came and measured me. She couldn’t get a reading from my belly so had to go alongside my back instead. Hung out in the locker room until it was time to go down, and finally it was time. Two of the women in my heat had scratched, so it was just me and this Russian girl.

On deck, surrounded by friends:

alt text

I told myself I just had to get in and see how I felt, then re-evaluate every two laps.

alt text

At the prompts, I took off my clothes, got in the water, and pushed off.

alt text

Felt hot/cold simultaneously but was doing okay. I felt strong and smooth and started to pull ahead. So many friends were around cheering for me, I felt truly honored by all the support. My Finnish friend was holding up papers with how many laps I had left, and it felt good to see the numbers decrease.

alt text

I didn’t push myself too hard, but felt smooth and powerful in my strokes and pushoffs. Towards the end I was getting tired and felt a sensation like the water pressing in on me, but kept going. And before I knew it, I was on the last lap! I brought it home and finally touched the final wall:

alt text

I felt good - my crew put T’s DryRobe on me but then I made a rookie mistake. Instead of putting my boots on right away, I thought I could walk up to the saunas barefoot. Bad idea! I got a bit unsteady on my feet so the boys walked me up the stairs. So sweet.

alt text

The saunas are crazy - in the co-ed areas the Russian women who help to rewarm you are in bikinis, in the female only areas they work starkers! They put my feet into cold water to start rewarming, then threw increasingly warm towels on me to draw the cold out. Painful process but it really works. I was warm again after about 5 minutes, then sat in the sauna before going to get changed. It was nice.

Threw on snowpants, vest, and hat, then headed over to the opening ceremonies and awards presentation. We had a parade of flags that was hokey and fun, as always. (Left to right: Capri, Brad, Me, Cristian):

alt text

After the procession there were speeches and then awards. I was seriously shocked when they called my name - I got 3rd place overall - BRONZE! They only did overall awards, no age groups for the marathon swim, so I was especially chuffed to make the podium.

alt text

The 23 year old Russian got silver and Mo got 1st! Yahoo! I am psycho so of course wanted 1st for myself, but was glad to have 2 spots on podium for USA (and weirdly we work for the same company too) but not bad for my first outing and being scared out of my mind and completely out of shape.

alt text

With some hard work and seasoning, I hope to improve in the future.

alt text

Z and my dear friend Matias from Argentina both made the podium for the men’s overall. I actually saw them swim - they ended up racing in the dark which made it seem even colder. The young Russian guy Grigoriy who won had the most beautiful stroke, so long and smooth. Matias is the same, not quite as fast (but still very fast!) but so long and lean and elegant in the water. Z always looks like he is fighting the water, he is fast but never looks like he’s enjoying himself. I actually said that to him the night before and he confirmed he only really likes to sprint and hates the cold water. He said he only came to Siberia to see me but we knooooow that’s a lie. He did look really messed up after his swim - needed a lot of assistance and looked like he was super out of it. He was really happy on the awards stand though, K joined him on the podium and she seemed to really enjoy that and representing his country. /end obsessive negative talk about Z

After the presentation there was a bonfire. With spirits bar! We had a few vodkas and watched this game people were playing around the bonfire. I couldn’t figure it out…people had do dance around, then stop, then two people got pulled out of the line and they had do look one way and if they looked the same way they had to kiss like 10 times on the face? It was interesting but fun. Of course K was left on her own, bounced around to a few people and came up to me when I was watching from the steps. We watched together for a bit, then went to make snow angels. I don’t even know where Z was, probably at the bar, he was loitering awkwardly near me when we were getting drinks but I just walked away.

I was so fearful of ending up in a snowbank in Siberia, but when it happened, it was pretty fun:

alt text

We went back to the dorm where the Belgians and Irish had laid out a ridiculous array of alcohol and chocolate. We proceeded to demolish ALL of it. It was insane. I don’t think I had any chocolate but know I definitely partook in my share of the booze. Crazy crazy night. I get such a high after these swims, I always go a little crazy…it’s euphoric and fantastic.

Successful completion of this endurance swim gave me confidence in my body again. With my father gone, I was doubting myself and feeling unsteady. With the cancer, I worried about whether my body, which has always served me so well, was strong enough to fight what was going on medically. Completing the swim and feeling strong was such an important step in shaking some of the demons off my back. They’re not all gone, but it’s a start. I am strong, mentally and physically, and I am lucky.

In the morning we went into the common room and there were empty bottles and chocolate boxes all around. Ha! Sign of a good night.


Jigger December 19, 2014

I love reading about your life and adventures. I know nothing of this stuff, and I'm fascinated.

kashka December 19, 2014

You ARE strong.

sarahbaby. December 19, 2014

This gave me goosebumps. Congratulations on your bronze medal!! That's so crazy. And as for the cancer...you got this.

.allison. December 19, 2014

Psssh. And you thought you were a shell. Dummy. :)

Deleted user December 19, 2014

woohoo! so glad you're feeling more confident.
i can't believe you swim in that water though. jeez. my hands go numb in 50 degree weather.

nightborn December 19, 2014

Darling, I think you are the only one who ever doubted you. :) Congrats - what an amazing experience, I feel lucky to be an observer. :)

hot-lips December 19, 2014

I still don't know how you do it, but congrats on the swim! And that's Russia in winter for you - minus outside and boiling hot inside. lol No wonder I love tropical temperatures indoors and think my parents' house is cold.

nowthat'salady December 19, 2014

Congratulations! I love the one of you getting into the water, you look so strong and graceful.

Readaholic December 19, 2014

this is so awesome. Congrats on the bronze! I love reading about your adventures...

Complicated Disaster December 19, 2014

Awesome!! Congratulations! I've only managed 35m in that sort of temp! xx

my.halo.has.slipped December 19, 2014

Oh my god. I'm cold just reading this! Congrats on 3rd place!

pandora December 19, 2014

Congrats! Third place is awesome. I couldn't even put a toe in that water.

Deleted user December 19, 2014

You are such an incredible person! Congrats!

BlueEyedDevil December 19, 2014

Wow that is awesome, congratulations! :)

Red December 19, 2014

I love it! Congratulations!

Deleted user December 19, 2014

I've really enjoyed this series of your adventure - thanks for taking the time to write in such detail. I LOVE your blonde hair. Way to go on resisting the crazy guy, but so sad about his daughter. Will you keep in touch? And congrats on third place!! :)

dickson. December 19, 2014

So goddamn awesome. Congrats on Bronze!!

Calicakes December 19, 2014

Congrats, so awesome.

kmh. December 21, 2014

You're so brave!!

Omg, what happens to the electronic pill?! Does it have to leave your body um.. naturally?

Satine kmh. ⋅ December 21, 2014

Hahaha yes, assuming I've evicted it by now but I didn't see it go unfortunately. :)

Bluesea December 21, 2014

You are amazing! Of course you made the podium :-).

Kate December 22, 2014

I haven't even finished this, but I have to comment on that second picture! You look AMAZING. So fit, such a great portrait of a female athlete. I am going to print it and put it on my vision board. You look so strong and tight and feminine! Aspirational!

Kate December 22, 2014

CONGRATS! I finished reading. So impressed with you. I hope you will look at these pictures when you feel "less than" anything.

Miso Honey December 22, 2014

Kick ass! Congrats!

Every time I see your race entries, I am impressed. I find I even feel proud to kind of internet know you. That is probably weird, isn't it?

desolation angel December 23, 2014

Congrats!

dancerd December 24, 2014

Awesome! Congratulations! It seems like it would hurt a little bit like when you're little and coming back in from recess and your fingers hurt?? Merry Christnas/Happy Holidays to you and your family!!

Ginger Snap December 24, 2014

You make me swell with pride, you really do. I am in awe.

QueSeraSera December 28, 2014

nice job!!!!!!!!!!!!! congrats on 3rd but even more so - sounds like this trip is what you needed. must have made you feel so good. yay you! so proud of you! :)
not sure if i did not read it - but how did you get to siberia?
like moscow to siberia? siberia by train? plane? i just have to say cool----------very very cool indeed. are you going back next year? :)

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.