Russia Day 3: In Hot Water in Magical Realism

Revised: 12/18/2014 5:43 p.m.

  • Dec. 18, 2014, 10:33 a.m.
  • |
  • Public

The next morning we had an early start and a day of sightseeing in town. We started off at the Trinity Cathedral, which was nice. I lit two candles, one for my father and one for myself. Then we went to the river to see the site for next year’s world championships. It was beautiful, I definitely hope to come back in 2016. Here’s Team USA on the bridge by the competition site (from left to right: Brad, Mo, Christian, Me.)

alt text

After that we went to a local museum/cultural center. They had displays of the local historical culture and traditional living in Siberia. Z was completely ignoring his daughter (let’s call her K) and on the cell phone the whole time. It made me so mad - she lives in a completely different country to him and only sees her at the holidays, why wouldn’t he want to spend the time he does have with her focused on her? I don’t get it. I kept an eye out to make sure she was okay but tried to separate myself from the whole situation. She is weirdly magnetic though - at one point we were watching a display of traditional cooking and she looked back, grabbed my arm, looked me in the eye and said “Hey.” It just killed me, I can’t lie. Like father like daughter I guess.

Wannabee Katniss:

alt text

After the cultural displays there was a traditional lunch. Again I couldn’t eat much but I drank tea and the Belgians poured me way too much vodka. I seriously loved them and need to visit Belgium very soon. After lunch we walked around the museum and Z tried to engage but I was still fed up with him. After the museum we went to the local hot springs which was a great treat. We had to separate out by gender again for the locker rooms, which again left K alone. She didn’t even have a swimsuit but really wanted to go in so I bought her one from the store. The girls got her dressed and we took her to the water. Z didn’t even show up, it was so crazy. I saw him once, he was on his cell phone. Again!

We swam her around the springs, jumped in the snow, then hung out until it was time for dinner. Luisa got her changed and did her hair (she is Brazilian with very curly hair too so luckily knew just what to do for K’s very curly mixed hair, thank goodness. I would have been too afraid of hurting her, but Luisa made a beautiful braided style.) We all sat for dinner which was kind of unappetizing. Took the bus home and K was showing us all these games on her iPad - there were word games and some where you pick dresses/makeup for characters. Very interesting. I had to sit with Z instead of for part of the ride and it was less than stimulating, would have much rather been hanging out with K.

Went home and took a look at the ice pool. It was super cold and did not do anything to make me less nervous. The Belgians went in though! Crazy kids!

alt text

This was my one early/ish night of the trip. I was very nervous about the endurance swim the next day and slept fitfully. Went to sleep at 10:30pm and woke up a few hours later, thinking it was morning. It was not, it was 1:30am. My roommate was getting really sick and coughing/snoring/moaning in pain all night. I put earplugs in and finally slept again from 4am - 7am. Not enough sleep!


Last updated December 18, 2014


sarahbaby. December 18, 2014

I seriously cannot believe you guys GO IN THAT WATER WILLINGLY.

Also, dying to see a pic of Z, btw!!!

LeftisRight December 18, 2014

Yes, photos of Z, please!

Ginger Snap December 18, 2014

Reading about Z makes me so angry. You really are an angel for taking K, regardless of your humility.

Dying to hear about the swim!

Leslie Bruce December 18, 2014

Def wanted to see Z as well. ;-)

Deleted user December 19, 2014

This entry made me cold ;P

Calicakes December 19, 2014

I have a crazy Belgium friend here. She is loud and has to be the center of attention at everything we attend together.

Bluesea December 20, 2014

That looks so very cold.

Miso Honey December 22, 2014

That does look even colder than most places you swim.

Glad someone was looking after K. Must suck being on vacation with such a disinterested father. Huzzah for you!

QueSeraSera December 28, 2014

awe- K sounds like a nice kid. glad she could rely on you. :)

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.