Russia Day 2: Trans-Siberian in Magical Realism

  • Dec. 18, 2014, 9:31 a.m.
  • |
  • Public

So after that dark night of the soul, I pulled myself together, showered, and met my friends for breakfast. It was a beautiful buffet - I had eggs and like 7 kinds of fresh fruit, with coffee, water, and juice. Then we went back to get pastries and champagne, and I’d just taken my first sip when Z walked in. We all hugged/kissed hello and it just about killed me to try and remain calm, appear normal. We all chatted and I couldn’t eat, just held onto my coffee cup for my life, alternating with sips from my champagne flute. My body was racing with adrenaline and I’m sure my face was flushed. He always smells so incredible…he was several feet away from me but I was still so distracted. We lingered at the table until everyone else left, then I went up to my room to do some work before we all met to head back to the airport.

On the way to the airport I met his daughter. Not sure if I mentioned this part before, but yeah. In summary, I have probably ten deal-breakers (other than the fact that I am madly in love with someone else) and he ticks every single one. Too old. Has a kid. Divorced. Lives a zillion miles away. Total player. Constantly checking cell phone. Bad tattoos. Shorter than me. Picky eater. Very very selfish.) But anyway, she is actually a sweet kid, beautiful and smart. Hung out in the Moscow airport, delayed a few times, then finally got on the flight to Siberia. Flight was uneventful, thankfully. Arrived in the airport and met the rest of the delegation.

Here I am at Siberia airport with my girls, from left to right: San Francisco, my new friend T who swims with me at Coney and lives in NYC and London but represents Israel at these things, Finland, me, and Brasil (everyone but T was on Argentina trip too.)

alt text

Got our luggage and got on the bus to this Russian oligarch’s compound. (This is not an exaggeration.) We got in, separated out by gender, then got undressed in this poolhouse/sauna building, then walked over to the “ice hole” on the family’s property. I wore a swimsuit and a wool hat, as was not planning to get my head wet. The water was just above freezing, and I did one lap of heads-out freestyle and felt like I was going to die. I started to freak out about the endurance swim - if I could barely do 10 yards in that temperature, what was I thinking trying for 450 meters? Z’s daughter was following me around like a little shadow, which didn’t help my anxiety. I think cats are like kids, they always go to the people who are most uncomfortable around them. Luckily every other female was totally enamored of her, so there were plenty of people clamoring to step in and interact/take care of her.

Coming down the stairs for the ice dip:

alt text

Boys in the icehole (just Ireland and the Belgians I think, there is video but not still photos from our ladies’ dip. NB - guy in photo with tattoos is very nice Irish swimmer, not evil Z):

alt text

After the dip I took a sauna with the Belgian ladies, and tried to calm myself down. Got dried off and dressed for dinner. I sat at the end of the table as far away from Z and his progeny as possible. Spread was incredible. Fresh fish, meats, cheeses, and approximately one million vodka toasts. I was petrified of ending up dead in a snowbank, so I stuck to wine. I couldn’t eat much but managed to drink most of a bottle by myself.

Some photos of dinner - think these capture the warmth/spirit of the evening:

alt text

alt text

After dinner I got a mug of tea, calmed myself down, and hung out a bit. Z’s daughter came up to me and very sweetly asked me to go up to the upstairs balcony area with couches and a pool table with her, and I surprised myself by saying okay. We played and hung out and it was honestly delightful. Z joined us after a while and we fell back into our old banter. I no longer felt like I was going to die around him, and things felt good, natural. I still don’t understand what the attraction is with him, but was definitely still there. After a game of pool it was time to go, we put our shoes and coats on and headed out. I sat with them on the bus, then we checked into our lodgings in the Siberian Olympic training sports center. I was rooming with my San Francisco buddy who was also one of my roommates in Argentina. I was getting ready for bed when Z pinged me, asking me to come out and talk to him.

Against my better judgement I met him. We hung out in the stairwell for hours, same stupid back and forth conversation we always have. So counter-productive. Part of me wanted so badly just to give in, but I just couldn’t do it. It would have been so easy, with the weird biochemical attraction we had going on, but everything else about him just repulses me. He said some pretty obnoxious things about A, which was so dumb of him. There is just no competition. I did find out why he cut off contact last week - it wasn’t because I told him to leave me alone (ha) but because apparently this married (!) girl he is seeing saw some of the messages he sent to me and went off on him about how obsessed he was with his “American girlfriend.” (Ha again.) He apologized profusely but the whole thing is so stupid. If he really considered me a friend like he said he did, he wouldn’t prioritize that sketchy situation over even a casual friendship. (I for one would do pretty much anything for even the weakest bond with swimming friends, it is a tight bond and something people might not understand, but it’s powerful.) Based on things he’s told me, I think he could be a sex addict. (Which isn’t necessarily a problem, except when it drives you to do dishonest/unethical/insane things.) At any rate, his entire life is just too too complicated and sordid for me to get pulled into. After too much time wasted talking to him, I finally got fed up and went to bed.

Lost some sleep but overall I give myself one million points for not falling into his evil clutches.


Last updated December 19, 2014


hot-lips December 18, 2014

Love your blonde hair and fringe, it really suits you. Z sounds like such a typical Russian macho player male. ugh Can't stand them. Good for you for not giving in to him. I don't know how you even dipped a toe into those icy waters, you wouldn't be able to pay me enough to get into freezing water. lol

Deleted user December 18, 2014

Brava girl! He is such a bad guy and he would be doing all that if he were with you to, you said yourself "Player" I don't know how anyone can see anyone that is married. Being married, that is a sad thing because it is such a big promise. My hats off to you for swimming in that cold temp of water! And, my hats off to you for being such a strong girl and saying no. Your life will be much better without that drama! Besides, you are a very pretty woman and you can pick and choose who ever you want and you don't have to settle for "Cheeser guy"

Deleted user December 18, 2014

Am I missing something? Are you really not going to point him out in pics? Also he sounds like a sociopath or at least a really bad guy (the type I'm always attracted to.) You are smarter and stronger than I am, beware of him.

Deleted user December 18, 2014

btw, you will like PlaceInvaders.Next is Jan 22-25 and they still don't have a spot. I'm trying to make it a property from my client on W. 23rd St. I'll give you the super secret heads up if it is.

Deleted user December 18, 2014

the bangs look SO GOOD. seriously.
100 million points - dude sounds like he's riding the failboat hardcore.

kashka December 18, 2014

Those inexplicably powerful chemical attractions are so weird. I've had a few too. Good for you for being able to use your head and recognize that it would be a mistake.

Also, I think your bangs are looking really great!

LeftisRight December 18, 2014

I love your hair as well! You look stunning!

Good for you for not giving in.

dickson. December 18, 2014

sends 100 million Canadian points

The pictures are amazing. You are amazing. EVERYTHING IS AMAZING.

nightborn December 18, 2014

Looking so lovely in your Russia pics - and cool as a cucumber too. I'm so proud of you for fighting through. I don't know whether I could have.

Brrrr ice dip!! I'm shivering just looking at it!

Ah, Russians. There is a reason my Ukrainian self married an American boy and avoided the Eastern Euros like the plague... I dated/hung out with a few back in the day, and I mean, they are super hot, intelligent, and fun, and they take good care of themselves for sure (clothing, grooming etc.) But although I'm sure there are exceptions, they also tend to be sorta sexist, see nothing wrong with cheating (for them only, not their woman!), and can be rather arrogant/cocky... Why is playing with fire so exciting?

Readaholic December 18, 2014

yikes but yay. I give a gazillion points for not falling into his evil clutches! Maybe it's a "opposites attract" kind of thing? As you said, there's just no competition with A...

BlueEyedDevil December 18, 2014

Yes, the hair! ('tho' - you know, like the cool kids do!)

SO many points for not giving in to Z... did the meeting quell some of the feelings about him?

nowthat'salady December 18, 2014

He's got to be one of the ones on the end next to the little girl. I'm guessing the guy in black. Good for you for resisting the attraction, it wouldn't even be a tiny bit worth it. I do understand though, there is something that makes you feel so alive about the possibility of giving into the urges and throwing all caution to the wind. I'm going through something sort of similar now and the shame and disgust and fear (even though I have done nothing but flirt a bit) when I'm around my husband thinking about it is just too much. Like my god, how could I ever ever even for a split second consider doing anything that would jeopardize this, the best part of my life?

Ginger Snap December 18, 2014

What Adriana said, only I'm still trying to figure out how to put character first.
And what everyone else said, too...you really are a stunner.

Jigger December 18, 2014

GOOD for YOU. And yes, you get all the points. Inexplicable attraction, against all flags, is the worst. (I remember from a long time ago.) I hope it's all worked out. And you look absolutely lovely, even when hiding behind all your airport ladies. ;)

Calicakes December 19, 2014

Its 66F in our house and I'm freezing. I don't know how you do it. I bow down to you. Whats the back story on Z? Did you talk about it somewhere?

Satine Calicakes ⋅ December 21, 2014

Eh, he was a swimmer, I met him in Argentina and there was a flirtation in person and then online leading up to Russia trip. Not much backstory...I probably thought about it too much for what it was. :)

Satine Calicakes ⋅ December 21, 2014

Eh, he was a swimmer, I met him in Argentina and there was a flirtation in person and then online leading up to Russia trip. Not much backstory...I probably thought about it too much for what it was. :)

Miso Honey December 22, 2014

Those are all pretty good dealbreakers you have, there.

Good job not falling into evil clutches.

For some reason, I have always wanted to go to Siberia...unsure why. I spend a lot of time in the Canadian north, I imagine the main difference would be vodka instead of rye.

QueSeraSera December 28, 2014

trying to catch up to you.! how absolutley cool. like this entire experience going to russia- siberia. i am living through you and almost feel like a shadow picturing every moment there.
z sounds intriguing perhaps very good looking in that sense (like attraction) but i am glad you kept your distance. i hear you on deal breakers. i have a few of those myself. also---------you look amazing girl! simply stunning! xxx

LotusButterfly January 31, 2015

You are a stronger woman than I, my friend. I love some sexual tension and the moment you surrender to it LOL. However, this guy sounds like real Trouble. And not the kind I like surrendering to... but kudos to you!

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.