What to read? in book reviews

  • Dec. 18, 2014, 5:10 a.m.
  • |
  • Public

After finishing a novel about Nell Gwynne and King Charles II, I had to decide what to read.

I started to read a book about new words - Word Watch - based on a series of articles from The Atlantic Monthly. There are new words coined regularly and this book describes them. It was interesting, but I realized that basically it was like reading the dictionary. Something to read in bits and pieces, not to read “through”.

So, I picked up another book - one about friendships between pairs of famous writers - for example Hawthorne and Melville. Interesting, but didn’t hold my attention.

Finally I picked up a book by May Sarton - a novel - I’ve read one of her journals, never a novel. The list of books she’s written is so long! This one is probably the one I’ll read through.


🌻StillJustMe🌸 December 18, 2014

I have a stack of books by my bed...my "winter reading list" I call it...

Darcy0207 from OD 🌻StillJustMe🌸 ⋅ December 18, 2014

Ah, so many books, so little time! (Actually recently read a book with that title... LOL)

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.