Stuff and Things in Diary

  • Dec. 17, 2014, 12:51 p.m.
  • |
  • Public

We had our roller derby Christmas party on Friday and I had a blast :) Last time I went on a social with them was the team birthday party in August, and I was still very new so hardly spoke to anyone and Jay was telling me I should go and mingle. So this time I was flitting about and chatting to everyone, and he was then complaining that I was just using him as my ‘base.’ I kept trying to involve him in conversations and getting him to dance, but he didn’t want to budge from his seat except to go to the bar. It seems there’s no pleasing him.

I spent a lot of time dancing with Faye as we were singing along to all the good songs from Metallica, System of a Down, Tenacious D, Slipknot and the like. I love how fans of extreme sport always seem to have excellent taste in music. (Technically roller derby is classed an extreme sport because it’s full contact)

They had a very long awards ceremony with categories such as Loudest Fresh Meat, Smelliest Kit and Most Likely to Fall Over. I didn’t win any but the team captain later informed me that she had voted for me for Most Improved because she was so impressed with my crossovers, so that was nice :o)

There was also a Secret Santa and I got a diabolo (Chinese yoyo) in mine. I’ve never been able to do it before so now’s my chance to learn. I almost left it in the taxi which would have been an interesting find; I bet taxi drivers find all sorts!

No roller derby for a month anyway. Last Wednesday was the last session. Friday there was no lesson because of the party, tonight has been cancelled because the hall we use decided to use it for something else tonight, Friday and Sunday I’m up north and then they’re having two weeks off. So I’ve paid my monthly fee, which is worth seven lessons, and I’ve only had three lessons out of it! I’m going to be so unfit when I go back in January.



Jay’s best mate Rob and his wife have just had a baby a week ago, a little girl called Bethany-May. We haven’t seen her yet, we said we’d wait until everything had calmed down because we were sure they’d have loads of visitors.

My old school friends Rachael and Peter also had a baby last week; it’s been that long since I last saw them that I didn’t even realise she was pregnant! I’m trying to arrange meeting up with some people when I go up home this weekend, but no one is available. I think maybe it’s time just to accept that the ties with my school friends have been cut. It’s always a pain trying to meet up with them when I go up, it’s been several years since the last time I saw most of them.
edit And I’ve just found out in the last five minutes that another one has had a baby and yet another is currently pregnant, and I had no idea! Cue more feelings of intense jealousy…end of edit

I’m looking forward to seeing my family anyway; mam and dad, sister and her family and my grandparents; I do miss them all. And I get to meet my mam and dad’s new dog for the first time.



It seems I’m going to have two weeks off work after this week. Most of my regular customers only need me when they’re at work but most of them are off work for Christmas and New Year so don’t need me to walk the dogs until January 5th. I’ll have to think of some productive things to do to make the most of the time off.

At least I won’t be missing out on too much money; I took photos for the annual conference for Jay’s work in January and they must have liked them because they’ve asked me to do it again on January 9th next year. That’s about two weeks wages for me right there. One night of the awards ceremony, which includes a three course meal, and one day of team building exercises, which includes a buffet lunch. So not a bad gig :)


Last updated December 17, 2014


Camdengirl December 17, 2014

It's one of those age stage thing - and it's catching too, once one couple start sprogging everyone else is under pressure too to get on with it!

Babe In Toyland December 17, 2014

I drifted from my school buddies too, but when I moved home, the ones who were still here were quite happy to pick up where we left off. In fact I bumped into Fiona tonight, who was my very first friend at secondary school, we had a hug and a chat and kind of arranged to do something soon. In fact, she's just texted me as I was writing this!

Miso Honey December 18, 2014

The Christmas party sounds fun!

People sure I having a lot of babies...

Vee December 21, 2014

It sucks that you don't see much of your older friends now, but on wards and up wards you've got your new roller derby girls to focus on, maybe once you get a bit more money you can arrange to go out more with them, or organise a girly night in with wine and films.

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.