Hits & Misses 2014: Movie Edition in Thoughts On...

  • Dec. 17, 2014, 10:04 a.m.
  • |
  • Public

I didn’t watch many movies this year and I think I only watched one that came out this year! Needless to say the list will be short.

**

Hits:

**

^ Olympus Has Fallen
I didn’t hold out much hope for this movie, but I do sometimes enjoy a good action flick. Plus it was free on Netflix. I recall that it was a very quiet day at work at the very beginning of the year. I cued it up and worked on some end of the year catchup and this movie did not disappoint. It was a continuous ride of “what next?” It is definitely a movie I would watch again & add to my collection (a very small collection)

^ Catching Fire
Catching Fire was my favorite book in the Hunger Games trilogy and I was excited to see the movie since The Hunger Games had really followed the book so closely. I always said that if they were going to split a book into two movies, it should be Catching Fire. Nobody listened to me though. I enjoyed the movie though.

^ Heaven Can Wait
An oldie for sure. Warren Beatty as a football player killed before his time, reenters the living world in an old man. Sort of like Changes, also an older movie. I am so happy I didn’t turn the channel!

^ Divergent
I saw this at the early opening. I loved it! I had just finished reading Insurgent earlier in the day and couldn’t think of anything else for days after. Sure there were a few issues I had with the film: The zip-line scene was really long and, from what I have read, was inserted in place of the butter-knife scene which, in my opinion, was more integral to the stories continuation than that zip line scene. Also the ending was way off. Way way off. But, I understand that in the interest of making a film exciting, changes are made (not always the best). I saw it again a couple of weeks later with my sister & brother-in-law. Plus I pre-purchased & enjoyed it on digital release day as well.**

**

Misses:

**

^ Red Dawn (2.0)
What a suck fest. The first incarnation wasn’t all that great, but this was just a big old thumbs way down. The only bright spot for me was Jeffery Dean Morgan. I think that is the only positive about this movie.

Those are the only movies I watched in completion. I have the hardest time sitting still long enough to watch an entire movie. I did make it a goal to watch more movies in 2015. I have a lot of catching up to do!

** I watched the first official Insurgent trailer last week and there were a ton of things I saw in those couple of minutes that I did not read in the book. So I am holding out hope that the movie will be satisfying and that the changes are not too radical.


No comments.

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.