Currently. in Nojomo 2014

  • Dec. 12, 2014, 1:12 p.m.
  • |
  • Public

Where am I: sitting curled up on a green sofa in a large room. In the background is the impatient ringing of a phone that won’t give up. There are brightly coloured climbing holds on all the walls, some of which currently hold the intent interest of my daughter who, by the way, turned 9 today.

I can hear: the gentle murmuring of the children chatting with the instructor, discussing their belays, wall routes and safety checks. In the adjoining sports hall I can hear shuttlecocks bounce against rackets as training shoes squeak on the floor, children’s voices raising in volume as a shot is hit or nearly missed.

I can feel: aching in various places but these sofas are so damn comfortable. They wouldn’t feel that way in your living room though, they’re great waiting-on sofas but not slobbing-out sofas. Having said that, I’m successfully slobbing right now! Trainers in the floor and feet up on the sofa! Mind you, I’ve come to feel as at home here as I do at home!

What I did today: work, obvs. It was Christmas dinner today… That meant all the staff racing around setting tables, handing out food, pouring drinks, dishing out the gravy, wiping tables, resetting tables, throwing more food in the vague direction of all the kids, pouring drinks on tables, dropping ice cream tubs.. I jest, it all ran incredibly smoothly and I love that they do that for the kids! We got an incredibly large quantity of kids (it’s a particularly large school) through the dinner settings in just under an hour and a half, a perfect factory assembly line :-)

What’s special about today: did I mention a birthday? I’m not allowed to big-up Tally’s birthday in the way I do my own, which is incredibly tough for someone who loves birthdays as much as me… On a positive note, we were allowed to sing happy birthday this year! It was her 7th when she banned it, carried the ban through last year but now, now we’re allowed to.... I wonder about next year though!

What are my emotions: chilled, relaxed, tired but generally happy. My job makes me happy, watching my amazing daughter climb makes me happy, knowing my other amazing daughter is at home with her dad, waiting for us, makes me happy. I’m also tired so that’s dampening the happiness but not in a negative way, in a tired happiness way.

The kids are going to do some bouldering now, where I can see them so toodleoo.


~Twinkle~ December 12, 2014

Happy birthday Tally! Xx

Deleted user December 12, 2014

I love happy tiredness. It makes me feel complete!

Feliz cumple Tally! :D

The Tranquil Loon December 14, 2014

wonderful to know!

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.