. in Another Open Diary refugee

Revised: 12/13/2014 2:44 p.m.

  • Dec. 13, 2014, 5:54 a.m.
  • |
  • Public

Tired and bored today… it is COLD down here this week and my lungs are protesting so I can’t do much… John’s off today and Monday but we’re not doing anything special. I wanted to go to a Christmas concert on Saturday but we didn’t get around to booking the tickets last week, and now we’re broke again (when aren’t we?) so we’re not going to go. Wish we were… Monday we went up to Michaels and bought two storage units on sale, but I’m super disappointed in them. They were meant to replace the plastic Iris carts with something more elegant, but they’re so flimsy you can’t put anything in them with any weight or the drawers will fall out of their sliders. I’ve got ribbons and little paper embellishments etc in the one we put together. The other one is still in the box and we have to return it to the store later today. Not at all sure that I want to keep the one I loaded up either… I rearranged the craft room to fit it in and loaded it with super lightweight stuff so it’s being used, but it feels like it was a waste of money.

UPDATE - I packed the unit back into it’s box and John helped me tape the box back together (I slit it down the sides to get the thing out in the first place, but the packing was waiting for Sunday’s trash so it was still in the corner of the room) and we took them both back and got a refund. I’m very disappointed, but I’ll keep my eyes open for something that will work better. The units were ‘only’ $25 each because they were on sale at 70% off, but still… no point in spending good money on something that doesn’t actually work.


Last updated December 13, 2014


Silent Echo/Quiet Storm December 13, 2014

if you can, return it. there is no reason to keep something in your home that you don't like and feel it's a waste of money. so sorry you can't go to the concert. maybe there are some church programs the two of you can attend? take care,

Silverkitty Silent Echo/Quiet Storm ⋅ December 13, 2014

I disassembled the unit and shoved it back in the box and we took them both back this afternoon... no problems getting a refund. I'll keep my eyes open for a storage unit that will work better in the space. We're going to a carol service at the church on Sunday afternoon...

Silent Echo/Quiet Storm Silverkitty ⋅ December 15, 2014

you might want to go to walmart and look at their plastic shelves. they are different sizes and i think go for around $ 50 or less. dont' get them at lowe's. they are too expensive there. the ones at walmart would have worked for me for the storage i needed... cannned goods and other stuff i want more of but had no room in the kitchen. they fit great in the pantry area. take care,

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.