Eldest son finally leaving home today. in The View from the Terrace

  • Dec. 12, 2014, 12:38 p.m.
  • |
  • Public

My son is moving out today. It’s not the first time. He left a few years back but had to come home when his landlord sold the house and he couldn’t find anywhere else. He stayed here and saved enough for a deposit and is now buying a house with a friend so not likely to come back again. He is 33 and it is well time he was living independantly. He isn’t going far, only to our nearest town 12 miles away and he will still be working just down the road for now and probably popping in for lunch. But I still feel sort of sad.

My other son also left home and returned, in his case when his relationsip failed, and my daughter has been away for three years living with her partner so I should be used to it by now and I still have my youngest son here for the forseeable future. But as I watch Chris pack all of his things into boxes I know I will miss him.


Silent Echo/Quiet Storm December 12, 2014

it's time for him to be gone and out on his own. it's plenty old enough. buying a home is a big step. you'll get to see him. he isn't leaving you. he's striking out on his own. even so, i know it must be difficult for you. take care,

🌻StillJustMe🌸 December 14, 2014

It is hard to watch 'em spread their wings and fly on their own :(

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.