Tree-less in Hi

  • Dec. 11, 2014, 4:34 p.m.
  • |
  • Public

It really disturbs people if they know I don’t put up a Christmas tree. Unless pressed to the wall, I keep that information to myself. I haven’t put one up since 1989. Are you shocked? Some people hold Christmas trees right up there with God and Country and Mama and apple pie.

In 1990 during Thanksgiving week-end my husband of 16 years decided to leave me (and our son) as he’d fallen in love with another woman. I was too heart broken that year. So, I didn’t do it. The next year I took all the Christmas decorations except for the ones my son had made to Goodwill and never looked back.

I wonder how it made Eric feel. I’ll have to ask him.

Anyone that has known me from OD days knows that Eric went to long term residential treatment out of state for a year when he was 16. I had plans for when he came home. I had gone to Hallmark and put a Merry Miniature tree on layaway and lots of ornaments .... then 3 weeks before he was due to come home for good (at Christmas) he told me that he would be living with his Dad.

I sent the tree right back.

Ten years ago, I didn’t buy a tree but I bought poinsettias and a fancy bowl and filled it with bright glass ornaments and planned on my parents coming for Christmas. Only they didn’t. Instead my Mother went in the hospital and was diagnosed with lung cancer and stayed there until she died 45 days later.

So, I don’t get a tree. I don’t hang a wreath, and I solder on. Christmas is not my favorite time. So, if you know someone and they don’t tell you a lot about their holiday or their tree or their presents just know .... Christmas is not a happy time for a lot of people. It’s okay. It is what it is. My day after Christmas is usually grand.


Last updated December 11, 2014


This entry only accepts private comments.

No comments.

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.