Spoke Too Soon in Magical Realism

  • Dec. 9, 2014, 9:32 p.m.
  • |
  • Public

Went to doctor yesterday, they are still waiting to review one part of the pathology from the surgery but it’s looking like I will need 6 weeks of radiation, 5 days a week, starting ASAP. But don’t worry, I would get weekends off from treatment and I can schedule the hour of treatment anytime between 8 and 5. Oh goody, so flexible.

I may be too tired to work, won’t be able to travel, would have to cancel my China trip and arrange coverage for all my work trips. I may lose my eyebrows. Eyebrows! In return this reduces chance of it traveling right now, in exchange for 6 weeks of my life, scarring/redness, and increased chance of cancer from the radiation later in life. (So cancer soon v cancer later? IDK.) There is no good choice.

I almost cried right there in the office but instead I took the subway home, lugged my suitcase downstairs, got in a cab and flew to Moscow as scheduled. Took train into city, showered and set my blow dryer ON FIRE. Got dressed, went to lunch and sightseeing in Red Square with friends, went to sleep at 6pm local time. Slept well for 2 hours and have been awake with racing pulse and uncontrollable thoughts for past 6 hours.

I have to get up in an hour. I need to shower, make myself presentable, do work, and repack. After that I will probably see the person I have been silently obsessing over for the past 4 months, maybe even at breakfast. So freaked out to know he is in this very same hotel after being 8000 miles away for so long. Last week I told him not to speak to me anymore and pretty much torched any bridges there, but now regret it. If only for the extreme awkwardness I am about to experience when I do see him. Why am I such a complete and utter maniac?

I am freaked out about all the events, the constant photos, and being around people constantly. I am freaked out about the cold. I am freaked out about all the work work I still need to do. I am freaked out about my swimming. I wonder if I am going to fail the medical.

Most of all, I miss my dad. It’s like a part of me, the confident, brave part, is gone with him. Which leaves this panicky, useless shell of a human being.


Deleted user December 09, 2014

This is all so horrible to hear. But you are so strong and vibrant. You will steady yourself and pull through just fine. Medical stuff is so very scary, but you are not alone. You still have family and A, a good job, friends, security. I know it is still super stressful and scary and I hope you can relax and just power through. You are so capable--you fly around the world and swim in big oceans. This is just another big ocean. You will conquer it like you have the others.

.allison. December 09, 2014

You are anything but a shell, my friend. Not even a coconut shell.

missing maui .allison. ⋅ December 10, 2014

I could not agree with this assessment more.

LeftisRight December 09, 2014

HUGS I am so sorry that you are going through all of this. As the first noter mentioned, you will conquer this. You conquer all. You have been such an inspiration to me through everything that you manage to do and still find time for yourself. You can do this! HUGS

Athena December 09, 2014

pretty much everything CN said. you are amazing. this is terrible. but you will be amazing through it. i just know it. xx

Red December 09, 2014

Oh, my love. You aren't useless, could never be a shell. You are brave and strong and beautiful. I'm rooting for you, sending you strong, brave, loving vibes. Be gentle with yourself, friend. xox

sarahbaby. December 09, 2014

I'm sending you love, light, etc. I think you're amazing.

nightborn December 09, 2014

My lovely friend, I am so sorry you are going through this terrible, shitty time. You are not useless! You are not a shell of anything. You are in pain, grieving and afraid, and anyone would be feeling these things in your shoes. I think most people would be holed up in their house in a fetal position.

I hope you know I am thinking of you - if there is anything I can do... please let me know - I'm completely serious. It's terrifying to be ill, and downright traumatic to have this happen and lose a parent at the same time. I can't think of anyone who would cope better and I am proud of you. Kick some Russian booty over there!

And in other words - I always thought Moscow was overrated. Your thoughts?

QueSeraSera December 09, 2014

Hi there ! Sending you hugs from Long Island. So sorry to hear about your medical issues but happy to see you are addressing right away . It must be hard but from what I am reading you have such fantastic loving support and we all support you here. I am sure your Dad is with you all the way . I believe that!

Deleted user December 09, 2014

Huge hugs. You're in my thoughts and prayers. You will be a victor!!

QueSeraSera December 09, 2014

Also considering you are or have received such news and got on a plane to Moscow to keep or moving. Wow - super strong girl . That takes a lot and it's inspiring . Kudos to you. On a side note how is Moscow in general ?

Complicated Disaster December 10, 2014

Oh honey. hugs xx

cariad December 10, 2014

If there is anyone who can kick ass at this, it is YOU! I'm so sorry you have to deal with ALL of this crap, so much one on top of the other.

missing maui December 10, 2014

I never met a shell who received "shit in column A, shit in column B" news and then boarded a train to halfway around the world as scheduled. So yeah, not a shell, though I imagine you feel rather blown apart. How could you not? Wishing you peace and serenity. xoxoxoxoxo

LotusButterfly December 10, 2014

The brave part of you is your Dad in you, you are Dumbo trying to fly without his feather for the first time. You will soar, and you will do this. The fact that u got the radiation news and then still managed to get your ass to fucking Moscos should show you how brave and strong you are. You are just overwhelmed and that's valid bc hello, you're human. I cannot understand how and why all this fell on your plate all at the same time, but I am certain if u take it little by little, step by step, you will pull through. I just wish I was closer. Stay warm, and don't ask so much of yourself- you are already doing far more than what anyone expects you to.

BlueEyedDevil December 10, 2014

The fact that you got that news and then got on a plane and went about your business PROVES you are not a useless shell of a human being. I admire your strength every time I read you, and I know you can get through this. Keeping all of the good thoughts for you.

hot-lips December 10, 2014

Oh my gosh, I am so behind! You're having radiation treatment for cancer?? It's easy to be scared, I know I would be. But Drs always give you worst case scenario, and if caught early, it's treatable. The fact that you went to Moscow (I'm well jel, I miss that place!) and got on with things as normal, shows how strong you are. You have friends and family, plus A, who will be there to support you during this difficult time. Hugs. How did you set your hair dryer on fire btw??! lol xxx

Bluesea December 10, 2014

Oh gosh, I am so sorry. If there is anyone I know that can stay standing through all of this, it is you. You have always sought the next big adventure and thrived off the adrenaline. It just seems that your next big adventure may be the most unpleasant. But while it may not have been the one you picked, I have no doubt you can conquer it. You've climbed Mt Killimanjaro, swam in frozen water, crossed the English channel, heck, you are in Moscow right now A little radiation is nothing.* You've got this.

*Not to make light of the situation. I know it's got to be terrifying. I can't even imagine. Just a little pep talk :-).

pandora December 10, 2014

You have a lot of support and you are very strong and very, very brave. You've proven that. Life is kicking the shit out of you right now, and that's not fair. We are here whenever you need to freak out.

nowthat'salady December 10, 2014

I'm so sorry to hear that it requires additional treatment. When it rains it pours, but I have a feeling you will catch your stride again real soon.

At Last December 10, 2014

There's nothing else I can add to the brilliance above. You are spectacular and amazing. Timing of this and losing your dad, two huge events, just horrible. But you are strong and will get through this even if it means being weak and vulnerable and asking for lots of support for a few months. I am thinking of you always and sending love and strength. You've got this!

Readaholic December 10, 2014

Yikes. Sending you healthy vibes for a quick and painless procedure and recovery!

Velveteen December 10, 2014

You're in my thoughts. I'm so sorry. hug

Miso Honey December 10, 2014

Far from a shell. You are strong, smart, interesting, beautiful and all round awesome. You will come out on top.

dickson. December 11, 2014

Hugs hugs hugs forever.

Manhattan December 11, 2014

I'm sorry to read this Satine. 6 weeks can soon go. I wish your dad was here beside you, even though he is in your heart xx

kmh. December 11, 2014

Gah this is just crappy :( However, you are definitely NOT a shell, you are one of the strongest, smartest most adventurous people I know. You will get through this! xx

Manhattan December 12, 2014

I'm wondering how your meeting went with the person you have been obsessing over

Deleted user December 12, 2014

Look at all your friends on here supporting you! By reading them, most of them are saying you are a strong girl...and I feel that you are! Keep your chin up, this is hard but you can handle this. I would love to hear about Moscow. HUGS to you and right now, I know you feel like an empty shell, but think of all the things you are blessed with in your life <3 Take care.

Deleted user December 16, 2014

hair dryer fire! vert the ferk?!
i think you're pretty amazing and not shellified in the least. not helpful, i know, but we all can tell how kick ass you are just from reading your diary. thinking of you <3

tranquil December 17, 2014

I think you are a very strong woman but even the strongest people can crumble a little when life throws you too much at once.

The things you are going through right now would send anyone's life into upheaval and cause inner turmoil. It sucks to hear that you have to deal with being sick on top of losing and missing and grieving for your father. I am so sorry you are going through all of this. It doesn't seem fair.

I know that the world must feel like too much but I hope that in time, you are able to conquer all the fears and doubts you are faced with right now and that you can regain your health and sense of self soon. Please take care of yourself.

Thinking of you and wishing you all the best...xoxo

kashka December 18, 2014

So sad to read all of this. Things have certainly been rough for you lately. But I have confidence that you'll pull through all of it and end up even MORE fascinating and driven and vibrant than you already are.

Ginger Snap December 18, 2014

My heart just aches for you. I am so proud of you for going on your trip.

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.