Obligatory entry...because an empty diary is lame. in Main Book

  • Aug. 7, 2013, 9:37 p.m.
  • |
  • Public

I was just trying to remember why I stopped writing in my OD diary. And a few things flooded back to me.

The whole site got a weird face lift that I didn't adjust to. I know it was like 2 or 3 years ago, but whatever. I didn't like it.

I think the other thing (though I hate to admit it) is that probably 90% of my faves were people who I had a lot in common with as far as where we were in our lives. There were those people who I didn't really have anything in common with and I still loved reading. There were people who I lurked who just seemed to have fascinating lives. But mainly, it was people like me...girls with pets and boyfriends/husbands or dating around, just figuring stuff out.

But then everyone was finished with school and married and having babies and I guess I lost interest. It's not so much the "married and done with school" thing as it is the "babies" thing. Some "parent" diaries are fascinating. Really though, until I have one, or even want one, most "parent" diaries me feel stagnant and destined to be old and childless.

So there's that. I want kids some day...maybe. But I don't want any right now, and when I see that almost all of the people who were in the same life situation as me 8 years ago have toddlers now, I feel like, "Whoa...I missed the boat"...or something.

Of course, I had a bunch of faves who had kids before I started reading them and I loved reading them and still do. That is different. I don't know why. I don't really care actually. It just is.

I want to write more. I need to research how private I need to be when I write here. Google is a nasty mofo.


delete please August 07, 2013

when ppl have kids they change i dont want any

luli August 07, 2013

gonna sound bad but every time i see a parenting, weight loss, or one of those "positivity" diaries i'm like no thanks.

erincredible August 07, 2013

Glad to see you here! I am kind of in the same boat... I just finally jumped on the 'marriage' bandwagon, let alone anything else.

sarahbaby. February 05, 2014

I guess I'm in the baby-having category (I'm due with my second in one week) -- but hopefully we can still read each other! I swear I write about other things, too! Am not the type to fill my Facebook with baby photos and boasts, and I'm also not interested in my diary feeling that way either. Motherhood is only one part of my identity. Although, with this birth coming up any time in the next week or two, I admit I'm not thinking about much else these days.

I hope you start writing again! PB seems like a fresh start in a lot of ways, which I know I needed, writing-wise.

naturescurl sarahbaby. ⋅ February 07, 2014

I'm so happy for you Sarah! I've been so out of the loop...but I think I remember reading when you were first pregnant. I'm glad to see you here too! I want to write more. I must have been in a "mood" when I wrote entry this last August...but I'm not (currently) feeling weird about all my friends who have kids LOL

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.