5 in nojomo 2013

  • Nov. 5, 2013, 4:29 a.m.
  • |
  • Public

Remember, remember the 5th of November, gun powder, treason and plot...

What job would I never take.

This question, I feel, should lead to the questioning of our standards, priorities and snobbishness.

I saw a tv programme several years ago about foreign workers. It was based around one job centre and there were a lot of people claiming that (a) there were no jobs and that (b) all 'them foreigners nick all the jobs'.

The tv team, quite easily, found some farm Labour jobs which involved getting up early in the morning and working 10-12 hours. Transport was provided. The English people said they wouldn't get up that early and work those hours. Their voices oozed disdain.

So, those jobs were taken by foreign workers who would willingly get up and work the long hours because it was a great way to earn quick money.

On a more personal level, having been to many a festival. I always have this incredible appreciation for the portable toilet cleaners. These people keep the portaloos clean, these plastic coffins of shit. They go in them in all weather (heat being the worst) and clean up our crap.

Would I do it? If I had another option, no. If it was how I had to make money then give me a Hell Yeah!

I like to think that I would never earn my money in any vice profession but, let's face it, none of us know where our lives will lead.

On a literal note, I will never be a doctor, lawyer, astronaut, computer engineer or any of those other things that I'm not qualified for!


Deleted user November 05, 2013

... I don't see a reason why gunpowder, treason should ever be forgot :-)

You are very right!

edna million November 05, 2013

The job situation sounds very similar to the US. Constant complaining from the Right that all our jobs are being taken away by immigrants (here, immigrants = Mexicans) .... yet Americans generally turn their noses up at the jobs Mexicans/immigrants are doing. Farm work, cleaning, rock-bottom-pay labor. I've read studies about the serious trouble our food supply would be in if the US suddenly deported everyone who is here illegally.

The Tranquil Loon November 05, 2013

4:29 a.m.? I hope that's my time and you are not up writing then!! Here we have people in trucks with power hoses that just spray down the coffins, hands off save opening the door...but still....

~Twinkle~ November 06, 2013

i always think of people who have to clean portaloos whenever we do runs where we have to use them!

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.