It's starting to feel a lot like . . . in It's a llittle llazy over here

  • Dec. 7, 2014, 7:15 p.m.
  • |
  • Public

. . . llaaaamaaaas.

But then, doesn’t it always?

I’ve been having tremendous fun with eczema lately. Can’t work it out, really. I had thought that it was a nickel allergy problem with my old bracelet-style watch. I even went out and bought a new Casio watch (resin strap rather than metal, you see) - which oddly turned into three new watches in the space of two months - but it’s not helped. It doesn’t really make sense as a nickel allergy reaction either, because the worst area is my right wrist - the one I don’t wear my watch on. I’ve also got patches popping up all down my arms, on the back of my hands and some spots on my forehead. . . . Fun.

Then again, allergies are funny. It might be that any prolonged contact with stainless steel causes my immune system to go hyper-sensitive and over-react to any contact on my skin. If things goes on with no improvement for another week I’ll have to bite the bullet and go watchless to see if my skin miraculously clears up as a result.

OK, I should of course be doing that right now, but I really hope that it’s not my watch. I always prefer to be wearing a watch, always have. I have relatively few vanities, and it seems unfair for my own skin to be ganging up against one of them. And it’d be a right swine to have spent quite a bit of money on new watches and then find out that I basically can’t wear watches anymore. So I’m really hoping that my skin settles down. Stupid skin.

The other suspect is my desk at work. The underside of my right wrist is in contact with the desk a lot - it’s my mouse hand - and that’s the area that’s blanketed with eczema. It’s not impossible that the cleaners are using some kind of chemical on my desk that’s triggering the reaction.

I also need to stop scratching. I’m trying, really, but bloody hell, it’s hard. Eczema itch feels like it’s embedded about an inch underneath your skin, and scratching it is a relief like nothing else, even though you know you’re going to pay for it big. . . . .

Fun.

Other than that. . . work is work, and everything else remains relatively calm. Have got a lot of the Christmas shopping done now. . . Which is nice.

Yes.


No comments.

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.