Taxis and Tour Busses 2 in Roundtrip Ticket to Paradise 2

  • Dec. 6, 2014, 8:31 p.m.
  • |
  • Public

Well, Monday got a phone call from Princess. Turns out they cannot offer me a job in their Transportation Department. However, I received an email from the Guest Services Assistant Manager, indicating she and the Guest Services General Manager would like to interview me for other positions.

So I emailed her back today, saying around 4PM Monday through Friday would work. So we’ll see. If the magnesium supplements I’ve been prescribed eventually work to eliminate the essential tremor in my wrists/hands, I might be able to score that Driver/Guide job next time they hire for it, and second time might be the charm for it, as well.

Otherwise, I’m still in the taxi… but haven’t worked the last few days as I picked up a stomach bug. Not sure if my resistance was down owing to not gaining that Driver/Guide job, as I was rather heavily invested in it.

Haven’t done much about putting away money for the eventual move to Anchorage… but there’s 25 shifts left in the month, and December is the month when people are primed to spend money all month long. Plus there’s Christmas Day and New Year Day, when hopefully very few of my colleagues show up for work (hope no one who worked Thanksgiving Day ran around shooting off their mouth about how much money they made). If I can crank $160/shift on average, which is admittedly a bit of a stretch (although, again, there is the holiday-season factor), I’ll have rent current plus the amount in savings I feel I need to make the jump by January 2 or so.

Winter here in Fairbanks has been rather mild, comparatively speaking. We don’t have much snow cover, but fortunately the lowest the temperature has gone has been negative single-digits Fahrenheit. We need lots more snow for its insulation value before we go to serious negative temperatures, eg. -40 (same in either Fahrenheit or Celsius scales). If we don’t have snowfall and temperatures plunge, we’ll be looking at cracked/heaved foundations and frozen water supplies and sewer lines.


woman in the moon December 07, 2014

Wishing you snow before it really gets cold. Wishing you a job you like too. And enough money for the move.

Everything Good Rebecca January 08, 2015

Sorry you didn't get that particular job this time. I'm hoping the magnesium will make a noticeable improvement--I've heard great things about that one! I just opened my latest shipment of essential oils and supplements this morning and as I took the supplements I haven't had for a few weeks I remembered how helpful they are in my life. I'm talking to Ron more and more about moving to Anchorage or the Valley sometime soon, because I can admit the Peninsula isn't cutting it for us. Best wishes for your relocation efforts, too!

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.