Gaslight (5) in Gaslight

  • Dec. 5, 2014, 2:06 p.m.
  • |
  • Public

Murdoch gave the old wooden door a knock or two before he tried the knob which was unlocked as usual. Kate was a look first, then shoot kind of a cop so he figured he would live to see another day.

“Lock your fucking doors Becker before someone comes in does you up right.”

Kate laughed and said,

” I look forward to that each and everyday Chaz.”

Kate was slouched in an armchair in her unlit living room. Her handgun dangled upside down from her finger and she held a rock glass in the other hand. One foot was up on the seat of the chair leaving little to the imagination for Murdoch as he entered the room.

“Shit Kate, close up shop will ya. I haven’t had my breakfast yet.”

“Yeah, Yeah, nothing you haven’t seen before.”

Kate got out of the chair and headed to the kitchen.

“You want to explain to me why you are here on what I believe is my one day off in the last two weeks?”

“Bad new Kate. Another cold one found on the northside of Gaslight. Harris and Billings taking the lead on this one. Apparently, the Cap wants a new perspective. Got the preliminary report though and thought you might want to take a look.”

Kate kept any surprise off her face. She didn’t kill anyone on the northside and the last thing she needed was two many half-ass cops crowding up the investigation. Murdoch handed over the report and said,

“Something is fishy here Kate. This one isn’t like the others. The previous three all seemed brazen in the attack. Came from straight on like they were looking for a fight. This one is clearly coming from behind. the throat slash angle shows strength of cut from back to front and a lefty pretty sure.”

Kate looked over the report feigning interest in the words. Her mind was working on how this would affect her ability to keep going. Kate was not going to stop and there was a murderer to be caught. Kate was going to kill every known killer, rapist and useless piece of shit until she’s dead or convinced the dark man is.

Murdoch sat on the edge of the old desk top and looked at the oversized bulletin board filled with pictures, new stories and map marked with pins and strings.

“I’d tell you to do yourself a favor and take a rest from all of this Kate and get some fresh perspective but I know how that would go.”

Kate gave Murdoch a glance and a small smile.

“I know what you’re saying Chaz but you know I can’t. The motherfucker is going to die or I’m going to die trying. “

“Yeah, I get ya. How about some breakfast?

“I’ve been having breakfast for about 12 hours now Chazmo. I got to run anyway. Thanks for the heads up on this one though. Now get the fuck out of my house.”

Murdoch gave a shrug and walked over to Kate and grabbed her by the waist and pulled her close. Kate dropped her eyes away but accepted the hug.

“Don’t you go dying on me little girl. You’re my partner. Look bad on my resume.”

“Fuck you Murdoch. Douche bag is the only thing you have on that resume of yours. Been carrying your ass for years. Get your paws off me you smelly pig before I pop one into that empty skull of yours.”

Murdoch let go and strolled towards the door.

“Food. I mean it. Eat something.”

Murdoch walked out and closed the door. Kate stood in the middle of the living room with the report still in her hand. She looked at the bulletin board and thought.

“Can’t be him. Just some copycat motherfucker hiding behind the other murders. I get him Kell. I’ll get him.”


Last updated December 08, 2014


WomanOfSteele December 08, 2014

[claps] I was a huge Dexter fan so I am loving this. I love Kate's attitude and she seems even a little more twisted than Dexter which is awesome. Keep it coming!

invisible ink WomanOfSteele ⋅ December 08, 2014

Well, thanks..

Wayfaring_Stranger December 09, 2014

It'd be nice to go on a rampage of righteous and furious anger with a lady by my side

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.