NaNoWriMo in Creative Writing

  • Nov. 4, 2013, 9:01 p.m.
  • |
  • Public

I'm not sure what bit me. But out of the blue, on the 2nd of November, I decided I was doing it. I haven't written anything substantial since high school. My creativity seems to be largely tied to my depression. I suppose deep down I'm one of those "tortured artists". The torture mostly stopped...and so did the inspiration.

And yet, here I am. 3 days in and I've already topped 11k words. And the craziest thing...my story started with a cow. And being so far in the future that no one really knew what it was. I kid you not. And the story is just...taking off. I love it, I hate it (because the whole point of NaNoWriMo is to NOT edit and just get it all down, and there are parts where I hate the dialog, or I hate the pacing, or whatever, but it's staying, damnit, because it's words!). It's so amazing to just open myself and let the words flow through me again.

So if I'm not around, it's because I've been writing over 4000 words a day on my novel, which doesn't leave many words left for here. See you in December.


scout_finch November 04, 2013

I've never been a writer except journaling and occasional poetry but it is so funny when it hits you, sometimes it hits so hard, out of nowhere. Cheers and have fun!

Lina November 05, 2013

Enjoy!!!

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.