Cyber Monday, "Half Off" in Site Updates

  • Dec. 4, 2014, 12:17 a.m.
  • |
  • Public

Oh man, it has been one crazy week. I need a week dedicated solely to napping. Between being swamped at work and being a bit under the weather, I have not got around to writing the glorious entry that I hinted at on Facebook.

(Yes, Prosebox has an FB page, it’s the only source of information when the site goes down, so you should check it out if you have not - https://www.facebook.com/prosebox )

So. Monday. Hackers were in a festive mood on Cyber Monday as the digital holiday season kicked off - they launched a massive DDoS attack against my DNS provider. That means Distributed Denial of Service. Basically that means that a group of hackers unleashed their army of hacked machines against my DNS provider, completely annihilating it with the flood of traffic (which is the point of the attack). I thought they may have been exaggerating when they called it “massive”, but there’s graphic evidence of the phenomenon:

I’m having a War Games flashback…

Even Matthew Broderick was impressed by the DDoS attack.

So anyway. Yeah. Monday weirdness. But everything is good in Prosebox-land. My DNS provider hosts a lot of DNS records for various websites so PB wasn’t a target specifically - I don’t think.

Thanks for your patience on Monday, and Prosebox on.


Last updated December 04, 2014


Anaiss December 04, 2014

Wow, I had no idea about the Prosebox FB page -- thanks for the info, I just joined it. Not much anonymity there but then, there isn't much to connect your real FB identity with your identity here. Not that my identity is a secret from a lot of my friends here. Heh, that sounds a bit like babbling.

Loki December 04, 2014

  • I'm going to like Prosebox on FB { if I haven't already }.
Loki December 04, 2014

  • . . .and I think I'll be pretty easy to find in the Prosebox FB page. . . LOL.
Nin December 04, 2014

You know, if people want to know what I have on my Christmas 'to-buy' list THAT badly, all they have to do is ask. No reason to be so extreme.

Loki December 04, 2014

  • you put this symbol ')' in that FB link in this entry, you mewling quim! =P
    PS: I've already liked the PB page ages back, it seems.
simple mind Loki ⋅ December 04, 2014

Oops, fixed I think.

Loki simple mind ⋅ December 08, 2014

  • ehehe! [Feels superior]
Rhapsody in Purple December 04, 2014

i did wonder the other day if there was a source to find out what was going on. Liking you on FB now. Thanks for your work in getting everything going again.

Gangleri December 04, 2014

ProseBox on, Wayne.

simple mind Gangleri ⋅ December 04, 2014

Prosebox on, Garth.

Spilledperfume December 04, 2014

mutedexposure December 04, 2014

Would you like to play a game? (insert flashing cursor here)

simple mind mutedexposure ⋅ December 04, 2014

Love to. How about Global Thermonuclear War?

Wicked Nights simple mind ⋅ December 04, 2014

How about a nice game of chess instead? *said in Joshua's/WOPR voice

Silverstar46 December 04, 2014

I have never truly understood why people do that. Just to be assholes?

Camdengirl December 04, 2014

I suppose it is a coming of age thing for PB - the hackers have noticed its existence!

Ditch Witch December 04, 2014

lots of sexless geeks = ddos

Deleted user Ditch Witch ⋅ December 04, 2014

hahaha!

*Mrs_Bolen* December 04, 2014

Uggh Ddos attacks make me pouty. They attacked WoW on launch day of the new expansion!

Deleted user December 04, 2014

Oh wow, for some reason I thought the attack was against you personally. I didn't realize it was the provider and that other sites were effected as well. I'm just glad it was resolved and that our books remained intact. :)

Deleted user December 04, 2014

That is seriously effed up!

moongate December 04, 2014

Well, at least we all learned PB has a Facebook page!

bobbi01 December 04, 2014

You did a great job of keeping us informed. Love your work!

Deleted user December 04, 2014

Thanks for keeping the lights on. Your service is appreciated.

synapse December 05, 2014

Hey nice graphic! I wish I could read it. Is there a bigger version somewhere?
Thanks for keeping us informed!

hoops December 05, 2014

And thank you for keeping us safe. One of these ladies should really offer you a BJ for all you do. I mean, I know you've got a lady of your own, but I feel like they should, at least, yanno...offer.

Etoile Filante December 06, 2014

HarleyBabe December 07, 2014

Is there any way to create a different color scheme? I would love to be able to have a black background and white text since I have vision problems. I have tested those that are already available, but none seem to help as much as necessary. Thanks

Deleted user December 07, 2014

It's a good thing I wasn't here on Monday.

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.