A Moveable Feast in book reviews

  • Nov. 30, 2014, 8:40 a.m.
  • |
  • Public

author - Hemingway

He is NOT my favorite author… that said, I am enjoying this book.

I recently read a memoir by his first wife - covering the same time/space/ground.

Much of Woody Allen’s movie, “Midnight in Paris” also covers the same time/place/people.

I recommend this book!!


Ragdolls November 30, 2014

About 13 years ago I decided that I needed to read all of Hemingway's works. After reading 3 books, really 2 & one half books, I was so mentally gloomy I couldn't go on. No wonder he committed suicide! What a dark, depressed thought process he must have harbored. I still have the books somewhere but I have no desire to read something that could be so depressing.

Darcy0207 from OD Ragdolls ⋅ November 30, 2014

I find that I dislike many American writers - Hemingway (usually), Vonnegut (people kept telling me I'd love him, after 5 or 6, I gave up), Steinbeck (I waited and waited for the Red Pony to appear - showed up in the LAST chapter - a gyp!). I remember when East of Eden was on Oprah's "list". I read it - I felt I was being hit over the head - EDEN - TWO brothers, CAIN/ABEL... again and again. I recently went to see Of Mice and Men on Broadway (with James Franco in it). I used to like it more than I liked the play made from the short novel.

If you'd seen Midnight in Paris, this book is very interesting. Since it's not a novel, maybe it would be better (?).

Darcy0207 from OD Ragdolls ⋅ November 30, 2014

Another reason I am enjoying this book - I read a memoir by Hemingway's first wife. This way I am getting to read about the "same" experiences from a different perspective.

MemoryFails December 01, 2014

Haha.. I didn't realize at first that this entry title was the title of the book. I was like, hey, she didn't even say what the book was called! Good ole' brain damage, at its finest! LOL

Darcy0207 from OD MemoryFails ⋅ December 01, 2014

We'll always have Paris!
I often misread items and have to go back to figure it out again...

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.